About U of O
Prospective Students
Students
Services
Academics
Research
News & Events
Alumni & Friends
FrançaisLibrariesMapsKeyword Search and DirectoriesCoursesU of O Home


Current calendars

Faculty calendars

Arts
Education
Engineering
Health Sciences
Law (Civil Law)
Law (Common Law)
Management
Medicine
Social Sciences
Science

Programs
Courses

Archived Calendars

See List

Contact Information

Infoservice
Tabaret Hall
75 Laurier Av. E.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
K1N 6N5

Tel: 613-562-5630
Toll-free phone:
1-877-868-8292
Fax:613-562-5323

infoservice@uOttawa.ca

InfoAdmission
Tel: 613-562-5315
Toll-free phone:
1-877-868-8292 (#5315)

admissions@uOttawa.ca
 
 
Calendars > Academic fraud

ACADEMIC FRAUD

Definition
1. Academic fraud is an act by a student that may result in a false academic evaluation of that student or of another student. Without limiting the generality of this definition, academic fraud occurs when a student commits any of the following offences:
a) commits plagiarism or cheating of any kind; (to obtain more information on plagiarism and how to avoid it, consult our Web site at www.uottawa.ca/plagiarism.pdf).
b) submits a work of which the student is not the author, in whole or in part (except for duly cited quotations or references). Such work may include an academic paper, an essay, a test, an exam, a research report, and a thesis, whether written, oral, or in another form;
c) presents research data that has been falsified or concocted in any way;
d) attributes a purported statement of fact or reference to a source that has been concocted;
e) submits the same piece of work or significant part thereof for more than one course, or a thesis or other work that has already been submitted elsewhere, without written authorization of the professors concerned and/or of the academic unit concerned;
f) falsifies an academic evaluation, misrepresents an academic evaluation, uses a forged or falsified academic record or supporting document, or facilitates the use of a falsified academic record or supporting document;
g) undertakes any other action for the purpose of falsifying an academic evaluation.

Sanctions
2. A student who has committed or attempted to commit academic fraud, or who has been a party to academic fraud, is subject to one or more of the following sanctions:
a) the mark of F or zero for the work concerned;
b) the mark of F or zero for the course concerned;
c) the mark F or zero for the course concerned and the loss of all or part of the credits for the academic year concerned and/or an additional requirement of 3 to 30 credits added to the student’s program of studies. The courses for which credits were withdrawn remain in the student’s file; they are included in the grade point average and must be repeated or replaced by other courses at the discretion of the Faculty;
d) suspension from the program or from the Faculty, for at least one session and at most three academic years;
e) expulsion from the Faculty;
f) expulsion from the University of Ottawa for at least three years, it being understood that three years after being expelled, the student concerned may ask the Senate committee for the study of individual cases to review his or her case, with the possibility, where applicable, of having the notice of expulsion withdrawn from the student’s transcript. If the student reapplies for admission, the regular admission process shall apply;
g) cancellation or revocation of a degree, diploma or certificate where the offence relates to the eligibility to receive such degree, diploma or certificate, and was discovered or determined after its award;
h) inclusion of the following statement in the student’s academic transcript: “Sanction pursuant to contravention of the University regulations on fraud.”

Decisions
3. Sanctions stipulated in articles 2 (a) to (d) are taken by the Faculty in which the student is registered. Sanctions 2 (e) to (h) are taken by the Senate committee for the study of individual cases upon the recommendation of the Faculty. Decisions shall take effect immediately, notwithstanding appeal.

Procedure
4. Allegations of fraud are submitted in writing, with supporting documentation, to the dean of the Faculty in which the student is registered.
5. If the dean or the dean’s representative decides that the allegation is founded:
a) the file is referred to a committee of inquiry consisting of at least three persons appointed by the dean;
b) the dean informs the student in writing of the allegation made against him or her and provides a copy of all supporting documentation, as well as of this regulation.
6. The committee of inquiry:
a) invites the student to present, in writing, within a prescribed time limit, any information or documents relevant to the allegation which has been made and, if it deems it appropriate, invites the student to appear before the committee;
b) solicits any other information that it considers relevant to its inquiry.
7. On the basis of this documentation and information, and once the student has been given the opportunity to be heard in writing and/or in person, the committee of inquiry:
a) either concludes that the allegation is not sufficiently founded and that no further action should be taken; or,
b) concludes that the allegation is founded and prepares a summary report for the dean, which shall include a recommendation for the appropriate sanction.
The student is informed by the dean of the conclusions reached by the committee of inquiry and of the next procedural steps. The dean informs the student that he or she may submit comments on the report of the committee of inquiry, provided that such comments are made in writing within 10 working days following the date at which the report was sent.
8. The report of the committee of inquiry, and, if applicable, the written submissions made by the student, are submitted to the executive committee of the Faculty or its equivalent, which either decides the sanction to be imposed or recommends it to the Senate committee for the study of individual cases as the case may be.
9. If the sanction is one the Faculty has the power to impose, the decision of the executive committee of the Faculty or its equivalent shall take effect immediately, notwithstanding appeal.
10. The dean informs the student in writing of the decision or the recommendation made by the executive committee of the Faculty or its equivalent, and of the procedure to be followed should the student wish to appeal.

Appeal
11. A student who decides to appeal the decision of the executive committee of the Faculty or its equivalent, or its recommendation to the Senate committee for the study of individual cases, must so inform the secretary of the University and provide the reasons for the appeal, within 10 days following the date at which the decision or recommendation was sent.
12. The secretary of the University transmits the file to the Senate committee for the study of individual cases which:
a) invites the student to appear before the committee and/or submit in writing any information the student considers relevant;
b) solicits any other documentation or information it considers relevant.
13. The decision of the Senate committee for the study of individual cases is final and cannot be appealed.

Fraud concerning more than one student
14. When the allegation of fraud concerns students from more than one Faculty, the committee of inquiry consists of one professor appointed by each Faculty concerned and of one chairman jointly appointed by the deans of these faculties. Failing such appointment, the chairman will be appointed by the vice-rector, academic. The report of that committee is forwarded to the Senate committee for the study of individual cases, whose powers, for this purpose, are those described under procedure number 8 for the executive committee of a Faculty. In this case, the decision of the Senate committee for the study of individual cases may be appealed to the executive committee of the Senate, in accordance with the procedures described under Appeal.

Suspension
15. A student who has been suspended from a program shall not be awarded any credit for courses otherwise acceptable as part of the student’s program or as part of the overall requirements of the program, when such courses are taken, at the University of Ottawa or elsewhere, during the period of suspension which has been imposed. A mark of F (zero) will be assigned retroactively, if applicable, to any course so taken at the University of Ottawa, and tuition fees will not be refunded.

16. At the end of the period of suspension, the student will be authorized to continue the program once he or she has registered in accordance with the conditions applicable at that time.
     
 


 

About U of O | Prospective Students | Students | Services | Academics | Research | News and Events | Alumni and Friends



System requirements | Feedback | Privacy Policy | Accessibility

© University of Ottawa
If you are looking for additional information, please contact us.
Technical questions or comments about this site? Last updated: 2015.08.06

L’U d’O en bref
 Futurs étudiants
 Étudiants
 Services
 InfoScolaire
 Recherche
 À l’affiche
 Anciens et amis
EnglishBibliothèquesCartesRecherche par mots clés et répertoiresCoursPage d'accueil de l'U d'O


Annuaires actuels

Annuaires facultaires

Arts
Droit (Droit civil)
Droit (Common law)
Éducation
Génie
Gestion
Médecine
Sciences
Sciences de la santé
Sciences sociales

Programmes
Cours

Annuaires archivés

Voir Liste

Contactez-nous

InfoService
Pavillon Tabaret
75, avenue Laurier Est.
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5

Tél. : 613-562-5630
Sans-frais :
1-877-868-8292
Téléc. : 613-562-5323

infoservice@uOttawa.ca

InfoAdmission
Tél. : 613-562-5315
Sans-frais :
1-877-868-8292 (#5315)

admissions@uOttawa.ca
 
 
Annuaires > Fraude scolaire

FRAUDE SCOLAIRE

Définition
1. Est considéré comme fraude scolaire tout acte commis par un étudiant qui peut avoir pour résultat la falsification de son évaluation scolaire ou de celle d’un autre étudiant. Sans restreindre la généralité de cette définition, il y a fraude scolaire lorsqu’un étudiant se livre à l’un des actes suivants :
a) commet un plagiat ou triche, de quelque façon que ce soit; (pour obtenir des précisions sur le plagiat et les façons de l’éviter, consulter le site Internet à l’adresse suivante : www.uottawa.ca/plagiat.pdf).
b) remet un travail dont il n’est pas, en tout ou en partie, l’auteur, exception faite des citations et références dûment indiquées. Un tel «travail» comprend un devoir écrit, une dissertation, un test, un examen, un rapport de recherche et une thèse, que ce travail soit présenté par écrit, oralement ou sous une autre forme;
c) présente des données de recherche qui ont été falsifiées ou inventées de quelque façon que ce soit;
d) falsifie, en l’attribuant à une source inventée, un énoncé ou une référence;
e) présente, sans autorisation écrite préalable des professeurs intéressés et/ou de l’unité scolaire intéressée, le même travail ou une partie importante d’un même travail dans plus d’un cours, ou une thèse ou un autre travail déjà présenté ailleurs;
f) falsifie une évaluation scolaire ou la dénature, utilise une pièce justificative d’un dossier scolaire qui a été contrefaite ou falsifiée, ou en facilite l’utilisation;
g) entreprend toute autre action dans le but de falsifier une évaluation scolaire.

Sanctions
2. L’étudiant qui a commis ou tenté de commettre une fraude scolaire ou qui en a été complice est passible de l’une ou de plusieurs des sanctions suivantes :
a) la note « F » ou zéro pour le travail en cause;
b) la note « F » ou zéro pour le cours en cause;
c) la note « F » ou zéro pour le cours en cause et la perte d’une partie ou de la totalité des crédits de l’année scolaire en cause, et/ou une exigence supplémentaire de 3 à 30 crédits ajoutés au programme d’études de la personne en cause. Les cours pour lesquels les crédits sont retirés restent néanmoins inscrits au dossier de l’étudiant et comptent dans la moyenne pondérée. L’étudiant doit les reprendre ou les remplacer par d’autres cours, à la discrétion de la Faculté.
N.B. : Les crédits additionnels imposés en sus du programme d’études, comme sanction pour un acte de fraude, s’ajoutent aussi à n’importe quel autre programme subséquent de même niveau. Les crédits additionnels imposés pour fraude peuvent servir à répondre aux exigences disciplinaires d’un autre grade. Ils doivent cependant être remplacés par d’autres afin que le total des crédits obtenus corresponde au nombre de crédits exigés par ce second grade augmenté du nombre de crédits additionnels imposés pour fraude.
d) la suspension de son programme ou de sa faculté, pendant au moins une session et au plus trois ans;
e) l’expulsion de la faculté;
f) l’expulsion de l’Université d’Ottawa pendant au moins trois ans, étant entendu qu’après trois ans suivant la date d’expulsion l’étudiant expulsé pourra soumettre au comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels une demande de révision de cas, avec la possibilité de faire retirer, s’il y a lieu, la mention d’expulsion au relevé de notes; si l’étudiant refait une demande d’admission, le processus habituel d’admission s’appliquera;
g) l’annulation ou la révocation d’un grade, diplôme ou certificat préalablement décerné, mais dont l’octroi devient entaché par une fraude découverte par la suite;
h) l’inclusion au relevé de notes officiel de la mention : « Sanction imposée pour contravention au règlement de l’Université sur la fraude scolaire ».

Pouvoirs décisionnels
3. Les sanctions prévues aux articles 2 a) à 2 d) inclusivement sont du ressort de la faculté dans laquelle est inscrit l’étudiant. Les sanctions prévues aux articles 2 e) à 2 h) inclusivement sont, sur recommandation de la faculté, du ressort du comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels. La décision prise s’applique immédiatement, nonobstant appel.

Procédures
4. Toute accusation de fraude est portée par écrit, pièces justificatives à l’appui, au doyen de la faculté dans laquelle l’étudiant est inscrit.
5. Lorsque le doyen ou la personne qui le représente estime que l’accusation est motivée :
a) il remet le dossier à un comité d’enquête d’au moins trois personnes qu’il nomme lui-même;
b) il adresse une lettre à l’étudiant pour l’informer, pièces justificatives à l’appui, de l’accusation qui pèse sur lui et il joint à cette lettre une copie du présent règlement.
6. Le comité d’enquête :
a) invite l’étudiant à lui soumettre par écrit, dans un délai prescrit, toute information ou toute pièce supplémentaire appropriée à l’accusation qui pèse sur lui et/ou, lorsqu’il le juge approprié, l’invite à se présenter devant lui pour présenter sa cause;
b) réclame toute autre pièce ou toute autre information susceptible de l’éclairer.
7. Muni de ces pièces et de ces informations, et une fois qu’il a donné à l’étudiant l’occasion de se faire entendre par écrit ou oralement, le comité d’enquête :
a) ou bien conclut que l’accusation n’est pas suffisamment fondée, et il rend un non-lieu;
b) ou bien conclut que l’accusation est fondée et sérieuse, et il transmet alors un bref rapport au doyen, en y recommandant une sanction appropriée.
L’étudiant est informé, par le doyen, des conclusions du comité d’enquête et de la suite des procédures. Le doyen informe aussi l’étudiant concerné de son droit de soumettre des commentaires concernant le rapport du comité d’enquête, pourvu que ce soit fait par écrit et dans les dix jours ouvrables suivant l’envoi du rapport du comité d’enquête.
8. Le rapport du comité d’enquête et, le cas échéant, les représentations écrites de l’étudiant sont soumis au comité exécutif de la faculté (ou son équivalent à cette fin), pour décision ou recommandation, selon que la sanction est du ressort de la faculté ou du comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels.
9. Si la sanction prévue est du ressort de la faculté, la décision prise par le comité exécutif de la faculté (ou son équivalent) à son sujet s’applique immédiatement, nonobstant appel.
10. Le doyen informe l’étudiant par écrit de la décision ou de la recommandation du comité exécutif de la faculté (ou de son équivalent à cette fin), et des procédures à suivre pour faire appel.

Appel
11. Dans le cas où l’étudiant décide d’interjeter appel de la décision du comité exécutif de la faculté (ou son équivalent) ou de sa recommandation au comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels, il avise par écrit le secrétaire de l’Université de son intention et de ses motifs, dans les dix jours qui suivent l’envoi de la décision ou de la recommandation de la faculté.
12. Le Secrétaire de l’Université remet le dossier au comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels. Celui-ci :
a) invite l’étudiant à se présenter devant lui et/ou à lui soumettre par écrit toute information considérée comme pertinente par l’étudiant;
b) réclame toute autre pièce ou toute autre information susceptible de l’éclairer.
13. La décision du comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels est finale et sans appel.

Fraude impliquant plusieurs étudiants
14. Lorsque l’accusation de fraude concerne des étudiants provenant de facultés différentes, le comité d’enquête est composé d’un membre du corps professoral désigné par chacune des facultés concernées et d’un président désigné d’un commun accord par les doyens concernés ou, à défaut, par le vice-recteur aux études. Le rapport du comité ainsi formé est par ailleurs transmis au comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels qui exerce alors le même mandat que celui du comité exécutif d’une faculté (voir Procédure, art. 8). Dans ce cas, la décision du comité du Sénat pour l’étude des cas individuels peut faire l’objet d’un appel auprès du comité exécutif du Sénat, selon les mêmes procédures – mutatis mutandis – décrites ci-dessus.

Suspension
15. Lorsqu’un étudiant a été suspendu d’un programme, aucun crédit ne lui sera accordé pour un ou des cours faisant partie de son programme ou pouvant être crédités dans le cadre des exigences de son programme et qu’il aurait pu suivre à l’Université d’Ottawa ou ailleurs durant la période de suspension. On accordera, rétroactivement s’il y a lieu, la note « F » (zéro) pour tout cours qui aurait été ainsi suivi à l’Université d’Ottawa, et les droits de scolarité ne seront pas remboursés.

16. À la fin de la période de suspension, l’étudiant pourra poursuivre son programme en se réinscrivant selon les conditions qui seront alors en vigueur.
     
 


 

L’U d’O en bref | Futurs étudiants | Étudiants | Services | InfoScolaire | Recherche | À l’affiche | Anciens et amis



Exigences techniques | Évaluez notre site | Politique de confidentialité | Accessibilité

© Université d'Ottawa
Si vous cherchez des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez nous contacter.
Commentaires ou questions d'ordre technique ? Last updated: 2015.08.06