Calin Rovinescu was appointed chancellor of the University of Ottawa on November 9, 2015.

President and Vice-Chancellor

'Allan Rock, the President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa

In July 2008, Allan Rock became the University of Ottawa’s 29th President and Vice-Chancellor since its foundation as Bytown College in 1848.


The Senate sets the University's educational policies and is responsible for the sound management of academic issues on campus. For instance, subject to the approval of related expenses by the Board of Governors, the Senate has the power to create and abolish faculties, departments, schools and institutes.

Next meeting:

Monday, May 9, 2016, at 3:00 p.m., in room 083 of Tabaret Hall

Board of Governors

Robert J. Giroux - Board of Governors Chair

Under the University of Ottawa Act (1965) the Board of Governors is responsible for the University's overall governance and management. In practical terms, the Board makes the financial decisions and implements the policies and procedures that the University needs to operate efficiently.

Next meeting:

Monday, May 30, 2016, at 5:30 p.m., in room 083 of Tabaret Hall


Back to top