uOttawa News

Media Releases and Announcements

190th University of Ottawa Convocation: Exceptional students and outstanding personalities honoured

OTTAWA, June 7, 2011  —  This spring, the University of Ottawa will honour ten prestigious personalities and award over 5,200 diplomas to eligible students from its faculties during its 190th Convocation.

The twelve ceremonies will take place daily from June 11 to 14, at 9:30 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., in the National Arts Centre’s Southam Hall in Ottawa.

Honorary doctorates will be awarded to men and women who have stood out through their major contributions to the University, their profession or society in general in various fields, including politics, human rights, education and science.

Please note that honorary doctorate recipients will speak approximately a half hour after each ceremony begins.

Honorary doctorates 2011

Mary Robinson became Ireland’s first female president in 1990. In 1997, she became United Nations high commissioner for human rights, a position she held for five years. She was president of Realizing Rights: The Ethical Globalization Initiative from 2002 to 2010, and currently serves as president of the Mary Robinson Foundation - Climate Justice.
Ceremony II – Faculty of Arts I – June 11, 2011, 2:30 p.m.

**Please note that Mary Robinson will be giving a talk at the University of Ottawa entitled Climate Justice: Human Rights and Climate Change, on Friday June 10, 2011, at 3 p.m. Find out more about Mary Robinson's talk.

Ingrid Parent is University of British Columbia chief librarian and president-elect of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. She has held a number of positions in the federal government, and has worked with international bodies such as UNESCO. The future of libraries in the digital age is a focus of her work.
Ceremony III – Faculty of Arts II – June 11, 2011, 7:30 p.m.

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston is the 28th Governor General of Canada. A lawyer by training, he taught at four universities, and served notably successful tenures as principal of McGill University and president of the University of Waterloo. He has also served on many key advisory committees shaping public policy, and has authored or co-authored two dozen books.
Ceremony IV – Faculty of Social Sciences I – June 12, 2011, 9:30 a.m.

Lise Bissonnette joined the influential Quebec newspaper Le Devoir in 1974, serving as editorialist, editor-in-chief and publisher, and establishing herself as a leading opinion maker. After leaving Le Devoir, she oversaw the creation of Quebec’s Bibliothèque et Archives nationales and the Grande Bibliothèque, an ultramodern library in Montreal. She is also an accomplished novelist and essayist.
Ceremony V – Faculty of Social Sciences II – June 12, 2011, 2:30 p.m.

The Honourable Warren Winkler is chief justice of Ontario and president of the Court of Appeal for Ontario. He has served on the bench since 1993. Justice Winkler is known for his mediation work on issues including, notably, claims arising from the Walkerton tainted water incident. He is also a leader in class action jurisprudence in Canada.
Ceremony VI – Faculty of Law, Common Law Section – June 12, 2011, 7:30 p.m.

The Honourable J.J. Michel Robert was appointed chief justice of Quebec in 2002. Prior to that, he represented the federal government before the Keable Commission on RCMP actions in Quebec, as well as in the 1981 Supreme Court patriation reference. He was appointed to the Court of Appeal of Quebec in 1995.
Ceremony VI – Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section – June 12, 2011, 7:30 p.m.

Leonard Lee is a Saskatchewan-born inventor and entrepreneur. An engineering and economics graduate, he worked as a civil servant before launching Lee Valley Tools, the internationally-known gardening and woodworking mail-order phenomenon. He subsequently launched three more successful companies, Veritas Tools, Algrove Publishing and Canica Design, a medical/surgical instrument company.
Ceremony I – Faculty of Engineering – June 11, 2011, 9:30 a.m.
Ceremony VII – Telfer School of Management – June 13, 2011, 9:30 a.m.

Benjamin Levin, former Ontario and Manitoba deputy minister of education, is Canada Research Chair in Education Leadership and Policy at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education. He has served as professor, education dean and consultant on educational policy reform. Author of five books and over two hundred articles, he is committed to helping students learn.
Ceremony VIII – Faculty of Education I – June 13, 2011, 2:30 p.m.

Neil Turok was professor of physics at Princeton University until assuming the chair of mathematical physics at Cambridge University, where he collaborated with Stephen Hawking on the Hawking-Turok instanton solutions. In 2008, he became director of the Perimeter Institute in Waterloo and he has established science academies in Africa to cultivate young scientists.
Ceremony X – Faculty of Science – June 14, 2011, 9:30 a.m.

Joé Juneau, NHL player, graduate engineer and founder of a hockey education program in Nunavik, played on the silver medal-winning 1992 Canadian Olympic team and then on five Stanley Cup finalists. After his retirement from the NHL, he initiated a social and community youth development program in Nunavik that uses ice hockey as a tool to promote education while preventing criminality.
Ceremony XI – Faculty of Health Sciences I – June 14, 2011, 2:30 p.m.


line divider


line divider