Discrimination

Discrimination

The University of Ottawa complies with the provisions related to discrimination that are contained in Ontario’s Human Rights CodeOccupational Health and Safety Act and Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities Act. In some situations, discrimination is considered criminal under Canada’s Criminal Code.

Ontario’s Human Rights Code provides that every person has the right to equal treatment with respect to goods, services, facilities, housing, contracts and employment as well as membership in trade or professional associations and unions without discrimination because of:

  • Race
  • Ancestry
  • Place of origin
  • Colour
  • Ethnic origin
  • Citizenship
  • Creed
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation
  • Gender identity
  • Gender expression
  • Age
  • Record of offence
  • Receipt of  public assistance
  • Marital status
  • Family status
  • Disability

Although the Human Rights Code does not provide a definition of discrimination, the notion of discrimination covers unfair treatment on the basis of race, disability, sex or any other personal characteristic. It can take many different forms, can target a single person or a group and can be part of a system.

Types of discrimination

Direct discrimination

According to the Ontario Human Rights Commission, “a person discriminates ‘directly’ when the action itself is discriminatory and when the person acts on his or her own behalf.

Example: An employer refuses to consider a pregnant female candidate or one who has just had a child for a promotion.

Indirect discrimination

According to the Ontario Human Rights Commission, indirect discrimination is discrimination carried out through another person.

Example: An employee asks the director to not consider a female candidate who is pregnant or wishes to have children for a promotion.

Sometimes a rule or practice unintentionally singles out particular people and results in unequal treatment. This type of unintentional discrimination is called “constructive” or “adverse effect” discrimination. The Human Rights Code also protects against this type of discrimination.

Example: An internal policy that provides an attendance bonus for employees who work over a certain number of overtime hours in a year.

Systemic discrimination

Systemic discrimination results when organizational policies, practices and cultures, for example, create or perpetuate unequal treatment of a person or persons.

Example: A policy stipulating that firefighters must meet a height requirement of six feet, which disadvantages most women, for example.

For more information on discrimination, please visit the Ontario Human Rights Commission website.

What to do?

What to do if...I experience discrimination?

Contact the Harassment and Discrimination Officer.The officer is available to discuss your concerns and to provide information, support and advice.

  1. Speak up as soon as you realize there’s a problem. Tell the person that you find his or her behaviour offensive. Be specific about the behaviour in question:

    “I find your remarks about my race offensive. I would like you to no do it again please.”

    “I find your remarks about my sexual orientation disrespectful. I would like you to avoid these kinds of remarks in the future.”
  2. Keep a detailed record of all incidents. Mark the tone, the words or the gestures and include the dates, time, location and names of witnesses if applicable.
  3. Write to the person a letter that includes the following three elements : (i) describe objectively the behaviour in question (ii) express your emotions and (iii) ask thye person to stop the behavior. Remember to keep a copy of the letter for your records.
  4. Make a verbal complaint; the discrimination and Harassment Counseler will intervene by meeting with both parties. If everyone agrees, the matter is closed. If things do not settle out of court, the complainant may file a formal complaint.
  5. Place a formal complaint in writing to the Discrimination and Harassment Counseler, in accordance with Regulation (67a) on the prevention of discrimination and harassment. The complaint must be filed within twelve months of the last incident of harassment.

If at any time you feel in danger, contact Protection Services.

What to do if...I have been accused of discrimination?

Treat this situation as serious.

If you believe you may have offended someone, check with them. Discuss the situation openly with the person and listen to them carefully. Take their answer seriously and resolve to never behave this way again.

Know your rights. You have a right to know who made the complaint and the nature of the allegations. You have the right to present your version of the events. You may retain a legal representative at any time.

You have the right to obtain support. Students can connect with their community advisors in residence, a professor with whom they have a supportive relationship, their parents or legal guardians, friends, family or any individual(s) who can offer their assistance. Faculty or Staff can obtain professional assistance from their union, association or from a Human Resource Services representative.

Avoid, if the circumstances permit, all contact with the complainant. Such conduct might be perceived as harassing behaviour. Do not act in any way that could be perceived as an act of retaliation against the complainant.

Keep it confidential. Confidentiality is mandated by internal policies on discrimination and harassment. The confidential nature of the complaint resolution procedures protects the interests of the complainant as well as your interests and fosters a safe environment for a mediated resolution or agreement to occur.

Do find out about the complaint procedures. Cooperate and take part in the process. Respond to the allegations. Behave professionally throughout the process.

Consider whether an agreement is possible to resolve the complaint. You need to be satisfied that a settlement is in your best interests. You voluntarily choose to agree to a settlement; it is never forced upon you.

Apologize if you recognize that you engaged in inappropriate conduct. An apology can go a long way in resolving issues. A sincere apology includes acknowledgement that you engaged in the behaviour, an acknowledgement of the impact of the behaviour on the complainant and a commitment to avoid repetition of the behaviour in question.

For further details, see Policy 67a – Prevention of Harassment and Discrimination and its links to Procedures 36-1 and 36-2. You can also check our diagrams for a simplified outline of the procedures to follow.

Do you need help now?

Security

Protection Services: 613-562-5499

Protection Services (Emergency): 613-562-5411

Police: 911

24 hour crisis response lines:

Sexual Assault Support Centre (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre: 613-562-2333

Center for Sexual Harassment and Assault (CALACS): 613-789-8096

Ottawa Police Victim Crisis Unit: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Resources:

On-campus and Off-campus

Policies and Regulations

File an complaint

Back to top

Discrimination

Qu’est-ce que la discrimination?

L’Université d’Ottawa respecte les dispositions prévues dans le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, la Loi sur la santé et sécurité au travail de l’Ontario, ainsi que la Loi sur le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Université de l’Ontario en matière de discrimination. Dans certaines situations, la discrimination peut être considérée comme des actes criminels en vertu du Code criminel du Canada.

En vertu du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, toute personne a droit à un traitement égal en matière de service, de logement, de contrat, d’association personnelle et d’emploi, sans discrimination fondée sur les motifs suivants:

  • la race
  • l’ascendance
  • le lieu d’origine
  • la couleur
  • l’origine ethnique
  • la citoyenneté
  • la croyance
  • le sexe
  • l’orientation sexuelle
  • l’identité sexuelle
  • l’expression de l’identité sexuelle
  • l’âge
  • l’existence d’un casier judiciaire
  • l’assistance sociale
  • l’état matrimonial
  • l’état familial
  • un handicap

Bien que le terme «discrimination» ne soit pas défini dans le Code, la discrimination s’entend d’un traitement inégal en raison de la race, d’un handicap, du sexe ou de toute autre caractéristique personnelle. Elle peut prendre de nombreuses formes différentes et être exercée envers une personne ou un groupe ou, encore, être systémique.

Types de discrimination

La discrimination « directe »

Une personne se rend coupable de discrimination « directe » lorsque l’acte en lui-même est discriminatoire et que la personne agit en son nom propre.

Exemple : Un employeur refuse d’examiner la candidature d’une femme enceinte ou qui vient d’avoir un enfant pour une promotion.

 

La discrimination « indirecte »

La « discrimination indirecte » consiste à porter atteinte à un droit par l’intermédiaire d’un tiers.

Exemple : Un employeur demande à son directeur de refuser d’examiner la candidature d’une femme enceinte ou qui vient d’avoir un enfant pour une promotion.

Dans certains cas, une règle ou une pratique singularise involontairement certaines personnes et crée une différence de traitement. Ce type de discrimination indirecte, aussi appelée « discrimination par suite d’un effet préjudiciable », est lui aussi interdit par le Code.

Exemple : Un règlement interne d’une entreprise prévoit une prime d’assiduité pour ceux qui auront fait un certain nombre d’heures supplémentaires au cours de l’année.


La discrimination « systémique »

La discrimination systémique se produit quand les règles, les pratiques ou la culture d’une organisation contribuent au traitement inégal d’une personne ou de certaines personnes.

Exemple : Une règle stipulant qu’une personne ne peut exercer le travail de pompier à moins de mesurer 6 pieds constituerait une mesure discriminatoire envers la plupart des femmes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la discrimination, consultez le site Web de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne.

What to do?

Que faire si… je fais l'objet de discrimination?

En tout temps, communiquez avec l’intervenant/e en matière de discrimination et de harcèlement; cette personne est là pour discuter de vos préoccupations et pour vous offrir des renseignements, un appui et des conseils.

  1. Parlez franchement dès que vous vous rendez compte qu’il y a un problème. Dites à l’autre personne que son comportement vous choque. Décrivez clairement le comportement en question. Par exemple :

    « Je trouve tes remarques au sujet de ma race offensantes. J’aimerais que tu ne les fasses plus s’il te plaît. » 

    « Je trouve déplacé les remarques que vous faites au sujet de mon orientation sexuelle. J’aimerais que vous les évitiez à l’avenir.»
  2. Ayez un compte-rendu détaillé des incidents. Notez les gestes posés ou les paroles prononcées ainsi que la date, l'heure, l'endroit et le nom des témoins s'il y a lieu.
  3. Écrivez à la personne une lettre en trois points : (i) décrivez objectivement le comportement en question, (ii) exprimez vos émotions et (iii) demandez que la personne mette fin au comportement. Prenez soin de gardez une copie de la lettre pour vos dossiers.
  4. Faites une plainte verbale; l'intervenant/e en matière de harcèlement et discrimination interviendra en rencontrant les parties ensemble. Si les parties s'entendent, l'affaire est close. Si les choses ne se règlent pas à l'amiable, la personne plaignante peut déposer une plainte formelle.
  5. Déposez une plainte formelle par écrit auprès de l'intervenant/e en matière de harcèlement et de discrimination, en conformité avec le règlement (67a) sur la prévention du harcèlement et de la discrimination. La plainte doit être déposée dans les douze mois suivant le dernier incident de harcèlement.

Si, à n'importe quel moment, vous vous sentez en danger, communiquez avec le Service de la protection.

Que faire si... on m'accuse de discrimination?

Prenez l'affaire au sérieux.

Si vous croyez avoir offensé quelqu'un, allez vérifier. Discutez avec la personne de façon ouverte, écoutez-la. Prenez sa réponse au sérieux et engagez-vous à ne plus répéter ce comportement.

Sachez quels sont vos droits.Vous avez le droit de savoir l’identité de la personne plaignante et ce qu’elle vous reproche. Vous avez le droit de présenter votre version des faits. Vous pouvez en tout temps vous faire représenter par une avocate ou un avocat.

Vous avez le droit d’obtenir du soutien. Les étudiants peuvent communiquer avec leurs conseillers (ères) communautaires en résidence, un professeur, leurs parents, un(e) ami(e), un membre de leur famille ou n'importe quelle personne qui peut venir à l’aide. Le personnel de l’université peut obtenir du soutien professionnel auprès de leur syndicat, de l’association ou d’un(e) représentant(e) des ressources humaines.

Éviter, si possible, tout contact avec la personne plaignante, sans quoi vos rapports avec elle pourrait être perçus comme des actes de harcèlement. Ne faites rien qui puisse être perçu comme un acte de représailles à l'encontre de la personne plaignante.

Respectez la confidentialité de l’affaire. Le respect de la confidentialité dans une affaire de harcèlement sexuel est exigé par les règlements internes en la matière. La confidentialité qui entoure le traitement des plaintes protège les intérêts de la personne plaignante ainsi que les vôtres et fournit un contexte propice aux efforts de médiation pour régler la plainte ou amener les parties à s’entendre.

Quelques suggestions : Renseignez-vous sur la procédure de traitement de la plainte. Collaborez et faites votre part. Répondez aux allégations. Conduisez-vous de manière professionnelle durant les procédures.

Évaluez la possibilité de régler la plainte par entente avec l’autre partie. Le cas échéant, vous devez avoir la certitude qu’il est dans votre intérêt de parvenir à une telle entente. Il n’appartient qu’à vous d’accepter cette solution; rien ne vous y oblige.

Excusez-vous si vous admettez avoir agi de manière répréhensible. Les excuses règlent souvent bien des problèmes. Pour présenter des excuses sincères, vous devrez admettre vos écarts de conduite, reconnaître les torts causés à la personne plaignante et vous engager à ne plus commettre les actes reprochés.

Veuillez consulter le règlement 67a sur la prévention du harcèlement et de la discrimination et les procédures 36-1 et 36-2 qui y sont rattachés pour de plus amples détails. Voir également nos schémas pour une compréhension simplifiée des processus.

Avez-vous besoin d'aide?

Sécurité

Protection Services: 613-562-5499

Protection Services (Emergency): 613-562-5411

Police: 911


Lignes de réponse aux crises 24h/24

Sexual Assault Support Centre (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

 

Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre: 613-562-2333

Ottawa Police Victim Crisis Unit: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Resources:

On-campus and Off-campus

Policies and Regulations

File an complaint

Haut de page