File a Complaint

FILING A FORMAL COMPLAINT

If you think you’ve been a victim of discrimination or harassment, you can file a formal complaint with the Human Rights Office. The Office handles all complaints of harassment and discrimination fairly and equitably in a reasonable timeframe in keeping with the applicable University of Ottawa policies and procedures:

 

Policy 67a – Prevention of Harassment and Discrimination is about finding and eradicating harassment and/or discrimination.

 

Applicable collective agreements

The applicable collective agreements for the different employee groups at the University contain various provisions related to harassment and discrimination. Policy 67a does not replace, limit or supersede any of these provisions.
 

Confidentiality

All complaints of harassment and discrimination are confidential.
 
 

Deadline for filing a complaint

A formal complaint must be submitted in writing to a discrimination and harassment prevention officer within 12 months of the last incident of harassment or discrimination. This deadline may be extended only in exceptional and compelling circumstances.

 

Interim measures

An interim decision may be rendered before, during or after a complaint is assessed if circumstances warrant such an action. The decision may stipulate the complainant and respondent are to work in separate locations, for example, or serve to reduce or eliminate interactions between the parties.
 

Filing the complaint

The complaint must set out the name of the person against whom the complaint is being made (respondent) and the extent and frequency of the alleged harassment or discrimination. It can include, for example, a detailed description of the alleged acts of harassment or discrimination, specific dates of the acts and names of possible witnesses.
The officer acknowledges receipt of the complaint, reviews it and, if necessary, seeks clarification from the complainant on information contained in the complaint. The officer sends a copy of the formal complaint to the respondent, along with any other information received from the complainant.
 

Response

The respondent is asked to respond to the complaint in writing within 10 working days of the date the formal complaint was sent to the respondent. If the respondent does not provide a written response, an investigation will nonetheless be initiated.
 

Reply to the response

The complainant is asked to respond only to any new elements contained in the respondent’s response and to do so within 10 working days of the date the response was sent to the complainant. If the complainant does not provide a written response, an investigation will nonetheless be initiated.
 

Officer’s assessment

After receiving the complaint, the respondent’s response and, if applicable, the complainant’s reply to the response, the officer determines whether:
  • an investigation is warranted,
  • the actions fall outside the definition of harassment or discrimination or
  • it would be best to attempt a resolution through mediation, provided the parties agree.
The complainant and respondent are informed in writing of the results of the officer’s assessment.
 

Review of the officer’s assessment

A review of the officer’s assessment can be requested only if the officer has determined that the allegations in the complaint fall outside the definition of harassment or discrimination.
To request a review, the complainant must send a request in writing to the Director of the Human Rights Office within 30 days of the date of the assessment.
 
The decision of  Director of the Human Rights Office is final and will be communicated in writing to the complainant and the respondent.
 

Investigation

If the decision is made to conduct an investigation, the officer, with the assistance of the complainant and the respondent, prepares a list of witnesses. The officer contacts all witnesses to obtain their written or verbal statement.
If the situation warrants, the investigation may be conducted by an outside investigator.
 

Decision

Sanctions or other measures imposed to put an end to the harassment or discrimination are determined based on the facts, the seriousness of the conduct, any mitigating factors and the provisions of applicable collective agreements and policies. If a complaint is substantiated, consideration must be given to preventing the harassment or discrimination from occurring again in the future, to correcting the negative impact of the incident on the complainant and to disciplining the respondent.
Below are examples of possible sanctions and remedial measures:
  1. A letter of apology.
  2. Participation in educational sessions on harassment and discrimination.
  3. Participation in coaching sessions to improve communication or conflict resolution skills.
  4. Prohibited or restricted access to the University’s campuses.
  5. Disciplinary measures, such as reprimand, suspension, dismissal or expulsion.
For more information, please consult Policy 67a, Procedure 36-1 and Procedure 36-2.
 

Other actions

Complainants can file an application with the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario under the Human Rights Code or initiate civil or criminal legal proceedings. In these cases, the complaint filed with the University’s Human Rights Office is suspended until the matter has been dealt with via the other avenues.

Do you need help now?

Security

Protection Services: 613-562-5499

Protection Services (Emergency): 613-562-5411

Police: 911

24 hour crisis response lines:

Sexual Assault Support Centre (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre: 613-562-2333

Center for Sexual Harassment and Assault (CALACS): 613-789-8096

Ottawa Police Victim Crisis Unit: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Resources:

On-campus and Off-campus

Policies and Regulations

File an complaint

Back to top

File a Complaint

DÉPOSER UNE PLAINTE OFFICIELLE

Si vous croyez avoir été victime de discrimination ou de harcèlement, vous pouvez déposer une plainte officielle au Bureau des droits de la personne (BDP). Le BDP traite les allégations de discrimination et de harcèlement de façon juste et équitable en temps opportun en vertu des politiques et des règlements administratifs de l’Université d’Ottawa :

 

Le règlement 67a - Prévention du harcèlement et de la discrimination a pour objectif d'établir si oui ou non il y a harcèlement et/ou discrimination et de l'éradiquer.

 

Conventions collectives applicables

Les conventions collectives applicables aux divers groupes des membres de l'Université comportent déjà différentes dispositions en matière de harcèlement et de discrimination. Le Règlement 67a ne remplace pas ni ne l’emporte sur ces dispositions.

 

Confidentialité

Une plainte de harcèlement ou de discrimination est traitée en toute confidentielle.
 

Délai pour déposer une plainte

Une plainte officielle écrite doit être déposée auprès d’un intervenant en matière de discrimination et de harcèlement dans un délai de 12 mois suivant le dernier incident de harcèlement ou de discrimination. Les délais peuvent être prorogés pour des motifs exceptionnels.
 

Mesures provisoires

Une décision provisoire peut être rendue avant, pendant ou après l’évaluation de la plainte si les circonstances le justifient; cette décision peut prévoir la séparation du plaignant et du défendeur ou faire en sorte que les échanges entre les deux soient interrompus ou réduits au minimum.
 

Dépôt de la plainte

La plainte officielle écrite doit contenir le nom de la personne contre qui la plainte est portée (le défendeur) et doit faire état de la nature des actes harcelants ou discriminatoires allégués et de leur fréquence. Elle peut contenir, par exemple, une description circonstanciée des actes, les dates précises où ils ont été perpétrés et le nom des témoins potentiels.
L’intervenant accuse réception de la plainte, l’examine et demande, au besoin, des précisions au plaignant à propos des renseignements fournis dans sa plainte. L’intervenant transmet au défendeur une copie de la plainte officielle ainsi que les autres renseignements obtenus du plaignant. L’intervenant avise également l’autorité compétente de la réception d’une plainte officielle.
 

Réponse

Le défendeur est prié de répondre à la plainte par écrit dans un délai de dix jours ouvrables suivant la date à laquelle elle lui a été envoyée. Si le défendeur ne donne pas de réponse écrite, la plainte fera néanmoins l’objet d’une enquête.
 

Réplique à la réponse

Le plaignant est prié de répliquer uniquement à toute nouvelle question soulevée dans la réponse écrite du défendeur, et ce, dans un délai de dix jours ouvrables suivant la date à laquelle elle lui a été envoyée. Si le plaignant ne donne pas de réponse écrite, la plainte fera néanmoins l’objet d’une enquête.
 

Évaluation par l’intervenant

Après avoir reçu la plainte, la réponse ainsi que la réplique à la réponse, le cas échéant, l’intervenant détermine si la plainte doit faire l’objet d’une enquête, si elle échappe à la définition de harcèlement ou de discrimination ou, encore, s’il serait plus judicieux de procéder au règlement de la plainte par voie de médiation entre le plaignant et le défendeur, à condition que ces derniers acceptent cette solution.
Le plaignant et le défendeur sont informés par écrit des résultats de l’évaluation par l’intervenant.
 

Révision de l’évaluation de l’intervenant

On peut demander la révision de l’évaluation effectuée par l’intervenant uniquement si ce dernier a jugé que la plainte échappait à la définition de harcèlement ou de discrimination.
Le plaignant doit alors présenter par écrit sa demande de révision à la Directrice du Bureau des droits de la personne dans un délai de 30 jours suivant la date de l’évaluation.
 
La décision rendue par la Directrice du Bureau des droits de la personne est sans appel, et elle est communiquée par écrit au plaignant et au défendeur.
 

Enquête

Si la plainte doit faire l’objet d’une enquête, l’intervenant, avec l’aide du plaignant et du défendeur, établit la liste des témoins. L’intervenant communique avec chaque témoin pour obtenir une déclaration verbale ou écrite.
Si les circonstances le justifient, l’enquête peut être effectuée par un enquêteur externe.
 

Décision

Les mesures imposées pour faire cesser le harcèlement ou la discrimination dépendent des faits, de la gravité du comportement, de toute circonstance atténuante et des conventions collectives ou des règlements de l’Université qui s’appliquent. Si la plainte est fondée, il faut faire en sorte que le harcèlement ou la discrimination ne se reproduise plus, que le tort causé au plaignant par le comportement soit réparé et que le défendeur soit sanctionné.
La liste suivante fournit des exemples de sanctions ou de mesures de redressement :
  1. une lettre d’excuses;
  2. a participation à des séances d’information sur le harcèlement et la discrimination;
  3. la participation à des séances de perfectionnement des aptitudes à communiquer ou à résoudre des conflits;
  4. l’interdiction ou la limitation de l’accès aux campus de l’Université;
  5. des mesures disciplinaires, comme la réprimande, la suspension, le congédiement ou l’expulsion.
Pour de plus amples détails sur la procédure officielle, veuillez consulter le Règlement 67a, Méthode 36-1 et Méthode 36-2.
 

Autres procédures

Vous pourriez décider de déposer une requête au Tribunal des droits de la personne de l’Ontario en vertu du Code des droits de la personne ou, encore, d’entamer des procédures judiciaires au civil ou au criminel. Le cas échéant, toute procédure de plainte déposée au BDP sera mise en suspens jusqu’à la résolution de l’autre procédure.

Avez-vous besoin d'aide?

Sécurité

Services de protection: 613 - 562-5499

Services de protection (urgence): 613-562-5411

Police: 911

Lignes de réponse aux crises 24h/24

Centre d'assistance contre les agressions sexuelles (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

Centre de crise contre le viol d'Ottawa: 613-562-2333

Centre d'aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel (CALACS): 613-789-8096

Unité de crise des victimes de la police d'Ottawa: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Ressources:

Sur le campus et hors campus

Politiques et règlements

Déposer une plainte

Haut de page