Harassment

Harassment

Under the Ontario Human Rights Code, harassment is “engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome.” The University of Ottawa complies with the provisions related to harassment that are contained in Ontario’s Human Rights CodeOccupational Health and Safety Act and Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities Act. In some situations, harassment and sexual harassment are considered criminal harassment under Canada’s Criminal Code.

Types of Harassment

Sexual harassment

Ontario’s Human Rights Code prohibits sexual harassment. Sexual harassment means a course of comment or conduct, often hurtful, related to a person’s sex or gender identity that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome.

Workplace harassment

Section 5.2 of the Ontario Human Rights Code prohibits workplace harassment “by the employer or agent of the employer or by another employee because of race, ancestry, place of origin, colour, ethnic origin, citizenship, creed, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, age, record of offences, marital status, family status or disability.”

Under the Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act, workplace harassment means “engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace that is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome.”

Workplace sexual harassment

The Ontario Human Rights Code prohibits workplace sexual harassment by the employer, an agent of the employer agents or another employer, such harassment defined as workplace harassment because of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.

Under the Act to amend various statutes with respect to sexual violence, sexual harassment, domestic violence and related matters, workplace sexual harassment is defined as:

  1. engaging in a course of vexatious comment or conduct against a worker in a workplace because of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression, where the course of comment or conduct is known or ought reasonably to be known to be unwelcome or;
  2. making a sexual solicitation or advance where the person making the solicitation or advance is in a position to confer, grant or deny a benefit or advancement to the worker and the person knows or ought reasonably to know that the solicitation or advance is unwelcome.
Poisoned environment

Although the term “poisoned environment” is not defined in the Ontario Human Rights Code or Occupational Health and Safety Act, the Ontario Human Rights Commission defines it as an environment “created when comments or actions based on grounds listed in the Code make [a person] feel uncomfortable at work….Sometimes all it takes is one comment to poison the environment.”

Criminal harassment

 

The Criminal Code prohibits deliberate conduct that is psychologically harmful to others, such as criminal harassment. According to the Handbook for Police and Crown Prosecutors on Criminal Harassment, “criminal harassment often consists of repeated conduct that is carried out over a period of time and that causes its targets to reasonably fear for their safety but does not necessarily result in physical injury.”

The following conduct is prohibited under the Criminal Code:

  • Repeatedly following a person or anyone known to them
  • Repeatedly communicating directly or indirectly with the other person or anyone known to them
  • “Besetting or watching” the home of the other person, or anyone known to them, or any place where they reside, work, carry on business or happen to be
  • Engaging in threatening conduct directed at the other person or any member of their family

Anyone who commits an act of criminal harassment is guilty of either an indictable offence and is liable to imprisonment for up to 10 years or an offence punishable on summary conviction.

The Use technology to criminally harass (online criminal harassment, cyberbullying, cyberstalking)

Online criminal harassment

Criminal harassment can be done through a computer, system, on a cellular phone or via other devices. Regardless of the tool used, the elements of the offence remain the same.

Examples of criminal harassment via technology:

  • Sending harassing messages by email or text to the victim or the victim’s employers, colleagues, teachers, friends or family members
  • Using GPS technology on a phone, camera or other device to track the victim’s location
  • Transmitting a virus to the victim’s computer, including software that automatically sends messages over a period of time
  • Creating websites about the victim that contain threatening or harassing messages or provocative or pornographic photos

For more information on criminal harassment, please consult the Handbook for Police and Crown Prosecutors on Criminal Harassment, published by the Department of Justice.

 

Cyberbullying

According to Bill Belsey of cyberbullying.ca, this type of harassment “involves the use of information and communication technologies to support deliberate, repeated, and hostile behaviour by an individual or group, which is intended to harm others.”Some cases of cyberbullying may also be considered criminal harassment.

Example: Sending threatening emails or text messages

 

Non-consensual distribution of intimate images

Non-consensual distribution of intimate images is considered a form of cyberbulling and is a criminal offence.

It is prohibited to distribute or otherwise share an intimate image (e.g., visual recording including a photographic, film or video recording of a sexual nature) if the person depicted in the image did not give their consent to share the image. The police can investigate such cases and lay charges in such cases.

A person convicted of this offense can be punishable by prison sentence of up to five years and can have their cell phone or computer confiscated.

 

What to do?

What to do if...I am being harassed?

At any time, you can contact the Harassment and Discrimination Officer at the Human Rights Office to discuss your concerns and get information, support and advice.

  1. Aknowledge that there is a problem. Do not think that the behavior will stop by itself; it could get worse if you do nothing.
  2. Talk to someone you trust. Sharing a concern breaks isolation. Tell yourself that it's not your fault.
  3. Speak frankly as soon as you realize that there is a problem. Tell the other person that their behavior offends you. Clearly describe the behavior. For example :

“I feel uncomfortable when you take me by the waist. Please don’t do it anymore.”

“I find your remarks about my appearance said during the meeting disrespectful. I would likeyou to avoid these kinds of remarks in the future.”

  1. Write to the person harassing you a letter that includes the following three elements: (i) describe objectively the behavior in question (ii) express your emotions and (iii) ask the person to stop the behavior. Remember to keep a copy of the letter for your records.
  2. Keep detailed account of all incidents. Mark the tone, the words, the gestures and include the date, time, location and names of witnesses, if applicable.
  3. Make a verbal complaint; the discrimination and Harassment Counselor will intervene by meeting with both parties. If everyone agrees, the matter is closed. If not, the complainant will be invited to submit a formal complaint in accordance with Regulation (67a) on the prevention of discrimination and harassment.
What to do if...I have been accused of sexual harassment?

Recognize that it is a serious matter

Know your rights. You have a right to know who made the complaint and the nature of the allegations. You have the right to present your version of the events. You may retain a legal representative at any time.

Obtain professional assistance from your union, association or any other professional assistance as need be.

Avoid, if the circumstances permit, all contact with the complainant. Such conduct might be perceived as harassing behaviour. Do not act in any way that could be perceived as an act of retaliation against the complainant.

Keep it confidential. Confidentiality is mandated by internal policies on sexual harassment. The confidential nature of the complaint resolution procedures protects the interests of the complainant as well as your interests and fosters a safe environment for a mediated resolution or agreement to occur.

Do find out about the complaint procedures. Cooperate and take part in the process. Respond to the allegations. Behave professionally throughout the process.

Consider whether an agreement is possible to resolve the complaint. You need to be satisfied that a settlement is in your best interests. You voluntarily choose to agree to a settlement; it is never forced upon you.

Apologize if you recognize that you engaged in inappropriate conduct. An apology can go a long way in resolving issues. A sincere apology includes acknowledgement that you engaged in the behaviour, an acknowledgement of the impact of the behaviour on the complainant and a commitment to avoid repetition of the behaviour in question.

Learn More

For more information on criminal harassment, please consult the Handbook for Police and Crown Prosecutors on Criminal Harassment, published by the Department of Justice.

Do you need help now?

Security

Protection Services: 613-562-5499

Protection Services (Emergency): 613-562-5411

Police: 911

24 hour crisis response lines:

Sexual Assault Support Centre (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

Ottawa Rape Crisis Centre: 613-562-2333

Center for Sexual Harassment and Assault (CALACS): 613-789-8096

Ottawa Police Victim Crisis Unit: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Resources:

On-campus and Off-campus

Policies and Regulations

File an complaint

Back to top

Harcèlement

Qu’est-ce que le harcèlement?

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario définit le harcèlement comme le « fait pour une personne de faire des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns». L’Université d’Ottawa respecte les dispositions prévues dans le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, la Loi sur la santé et sécurité au travail de l’Ontario, ainsi que la Loi sur le ministère de la Formation et des Collèges et Université de l’Ontario en matière harcèlement. Dans certaines situations, le harcèlement et le harcèlement sexuel peuvent être considérés des actes criminels en vertu du Code criminel du Canada.

Types d’harcèlement

Le harcèlement sexuel

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario interdit le harcèlement sexuel. On parle de harcèlement sexuel lorsqu’une personne prononce des paroles ou pose des gestes, souvent blessants, fondés sur le sexe ou l’identité sexuelle, alors qu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns.

Le harcèlement au travail

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario interdit le harcèlement au travail par un employeur, le mandataire de celui-ci ou un autre employé pour des raisons fondées sur la race, l’ascendance, le lieu d’origine, la couleur, l’origine ethnique, la citoyenneté, la croyance, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle, l’expression de l’identité sexuelle, l’âge, l’existence d’un casier judiciaire, l’état matrimonial, l’état familial ou un handicap. 

La Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail de l’Ontario définit le harcèlement au travail comme le fait pour une personne d’adopter une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns.

Le harcèlement sexuel au travail

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario interdit aussi le harcèlement sexuel au travail par un employeur, le mandataire de celui-ci ou un autre employé pour des raisons fondées sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle. 

Selon la Loi modifiant diverses lois en ce qui concerne la violence sexuelle, le harcèlement sexuel, la violence familiale et des questions connexes, le harcèlement sexuel au travail s’entend :

  1. du fait pour une personne d’adopter, pour des raisons fondées sur le sexe, l’orientation sexuelle, l’identité sexuelle ou l’expression de l’identité sexuelle, une ligne de conduite caractérisée par des remarques ou des gestes vexatoires contre un travailleur dans un lieu de travail lorsqu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces remarques ou ces gestes sont importuns;
  2. du fait pour une personne de faire des sollicitations ou des avances sexuelles alors qu’elle est en mesure d’accorder au travailleur ou de lui refuser un avantage ou une promotion et qu’elle sait ou devrait raisonnablement savoir que ces sollicitations ou ces avances sont importunes.
Qu’est-ce qu’une atmosphère empoisonnée?

Bien que le terme « atmosphère empoisonnée » ne soit pas défini dans le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario ni dans la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, il s’entend de remarques ou de gestes importuns fondés sur des motifs de discrimination établis dans le Code qui occasionnent un malaise chez un individu ou un groupe d’individus dans le milieu de travail ou de vie. Il suffit parfois d’un seul commentaire pour empoisonner l’atmosphère.

Le harcèlement criminel

Le Code criminel interdit le harcèlement criminel, lequel se définit comme une conduite délibérée qui occasionne un préjudice psychologique à d’autres personnes. Le harcèlement criminel consiste souvent en la répétition, pendant un certain temps, d’actes qui amènent les personnes cibles à légitimement craindre pour leur sécurité, mais n’aboutit pas nécessairement à des lésions corporelles.[1]

Les actes suivants sont notamment interdits :

  • suivre une personne ou l’une de ses connaissances de façon répétée;
  • communiquer de façon répétée, même indirectement, avec une personne ou l’une de ses connaissances;
  • cerner ou surveiller sa maison d’habitation ou le lieu où cette personne ou l’une de ses connaissances réside, travaille, exerce son activité professionnelle ou se trouve;
  • se comporter d’une manière menaçante à l’égard de cette personne ou d’un membre de sa famille.

Toute personne qui commet une infraction de harcèlement criminel est coupable d’un acte criminel passible d’un emprisonnement maximal de dix ans ou d’une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire.

La technologie utilisée pour harcèlement criminel (harcèlement criminel en ligne, cyberintimidation, cyber-harcèlement)

Cyberharcèlement

Le harcèlement criminel peut se faire au moyen d’un ordinateur, d’un téléphone cellulaire ou d’autres dispositifs. Les principes constitutifs de l’infraction demeurent toutefois les mêmes.

En voici quelques exemples :

  • envoyer des messages de harcèlement par courriel ou par messagerie texte à la victime, à son employeur, à ses collègues, à ses enseignants, à ses amis ou aux membres de sa famille;
  • utiliser de la technologie GPS (sur un téléphone, un appareil photo ou un autre dispositif) pour savoir où se trouve la victime;
  • envoyer un virus à l’ordinateur de la victime, comme un logiciel qui transmet automatiquement des messages pendant une période de temps donnée;
  • créer des sites Web qui visent la victime et qui renferment des messages de menaces ou de harcèlement, ou des photographies provocantes ou pornographiques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le harcèlement criminel, consultez le Guide à l’intention des policiers et des procureurs de la couronne du ministère de la Justice.

 

La cyberintimidation

On parle de cyberintimidation « lorsque les technologies de l’information et des communications sont utilisées pour appuyer un comportement délibéré, répété et hostile d’un individu ou d’un groupe en vue de faire du mal à d’autres ». Certaines situations de cyberintimidation peuvent aussi constituer du harcèlement criminel.

Exemple : L’envoi de courriels ou de messages instantanés menaçants ou agressifs.

 

La distribution non consensuelle d’images intimes

La distribution non consensuelle d’images intimes est considérée comme une forme de cyberintimidation et constitue une infraction criminelle.

Il est interdit de distribuer ou de partager une photographie ou une vidéo de nature sexuelle ou qui montre une scène de nudité sans le consentement de la personne qui y figure. Dans de telles circonstances, les policiers peuvent faire enquête et porter des accusations.

Une personne déclarée coupable de cette infraction est passible d’une peine maximale d’emprisonnement de cinq ans; elle peut aussi se faire confisquer son téléphone cellulaire ou son ordinateur.

 

 

Quoi faire

Que faire si... je vis une situation de harcèlement?

En tout temps, communiquez avec l'intervenant/e en matière de discrimination et de harcèlement au Bureau des droits de la personne pour discuter de vos préoccupations et obtenir des renseignements, appui et conseils.

  1. Admettez qu'il y a un problème. Ne pensez pas que le comportement cessera tout seul; il pourrait s'aggraver si vous n'en faites rien.
  2. Parlez-en à quelqu'un en qui vous avez confiance. Partager une inquiétude brise l'isolement. Dites-vous que ce n'est pas votre faute.
  3. Parlez franchement dès que vous vous rendez compte qu'il y a un problème.
    Dites à l'autre personne que son comportement vous choque. Décrivez clairement le comportement en question. Par exemple :

“Je me sens mal à l'aise lorsque vous me prenez par la taille. S'il vous plaît, ne faites plus cela.”

“Je trouve déplacé les remarques que vous faites au sujet de mon apparence durant les réunions. J'aimerais que vous les évitiez à l'avenir”

  1. Écrivez à la personne qui vous harcèle une lettre en trois points: (i) décrivez objectivement le comportement en question, (ii) exprimez vos émotions et (iii) demandez que la personne mettre fin au comportement. Gardez une copie de la lettre pour vos dossiers.
  2. Ayez un compte-rendu détaillé des incidents. Notez les gestes posés ou les paroles prononcées ainsi que la date, l'heure, l'endroit et le nom des témoins, s'il y a lieu.
  3. Faites une plainte verbale; l'intervenant/e en matière de discrimination et de harcèlement veillera à rencontrer les parties pour faciliter le dialogue. Si les deux parties arrivent à une résolution, l'affaire est close. Sinon, la personne plaignante sera invitée à déposer une plainte formelle en conformité avec le règlement (67a) sur la prévention du harcèlement et de la discrimination.
Que faire si... on m'accuse de harcèlement sexuel?

Prenez l'affaire au sérieux.

Si vous croyez avoir offensé quelqu'un, allez vérifier. Discutez avec la personne de façon ouverte, écoutez-la. Prenez sa réponse au sérieux et engagez-vous à ne plus répéter ce comportement.

Sachez quels sont vos droits. Vous avez le droit de savoir l’identité de la personne plaignante et ce qu’elle vous reproche. Vous avez le droit de présenter votre version des faits. Vous pouvez en tout temps vous faire représenter par une avocate ou un avocat.

Obtenez une aide professionnelle de votre syndicat, de votre association ou d’autres services professionnels au besoin.

Éviter, si possible, tout contact avec la personne plaignante, sans quoi vos rapports avec elle pourraient être perçus comme des actes de harcèlement. Ne faites rien qui puisse être perçu comme un acte de représailles à l’encontre de la personne plaignante.

Respectez la confidentialité de l’affaire. Le respect de la confidentialité dans une affaire de harcèlement sexuel est exigé par les règlements internes en la matière. La confidentialité qui entoure le traitement des plaintes protège les intérêts de la personne plaignante ainsi que les vôtres et fournit un contexte propice aux efforts de médiation pour régler la plainte ou amener les parties à s’entendre.

Quelques suggestions : Renseignez-vous sur la procédure de traitement de la plainte. Collaborez et faites votre part. Répondez aux allégations. Conduisez-vous de manière professionnelle durant les procédures.

Évaluez la possibilité de régler la plainte par entente avec l’autre partie. Le cas échéant, vous devez avoir la certitude qu’il est dans votre intérêt de parvenir à une telle entente. Il n’appartient qu’à vous d’accepter cette solution; rien ne vous y oblige.

Excusez-vous si vous admettez avoir agi de manière répréhensible. Les excuses règlent souvent bien des problèmes. Pour présenter des excuses sincères, vous devrez admettre vos écarts de conduite, reconnaître les torts causés à la personne plaignante et vous engager à ne plus commettre les actes reprochés.

Veuillez consulter le règlement 67a sur la Prévention du harcèlement et de la discrimination et les procédures 36-1 et 36-2 qui y sont rattachés pour de plus amples détails. Voir également nos schémas pour une compréhension simplifiée des processus.

Apprendre Plus

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le harcèlement criminel, consultez le Guide à l’intention des policiers et des procureurs de la couronne du ministère de la Justice.

Avez-vous besoin d'aide?

Sécurité

Services de protection: 613 - 562-5499

Services de protection (urgence): 613-562-5411

Police: 911

Lignes de réponse aux crises 24h/24

Centre d'assistance contre les agressions sexuelles (SASC):

  • 613-234-2266
  • TTY: 613-725-1657

Centre de crise contre le viol d'Ottawa: 613-562-2333

Centre d'aide et de lutte contre les agressions à caractère sexuel (CALACS): 613-789-8096

Unité de crise des victimes de la police d'Ottawa: 613-236-1222 x 2223

Services

Ressources:

Sur le campus et hors campus

Politiques et règlements

Déposer une plainte

Haut de page