Frequently asked questions

FAQs

Does the AODA replace the Ontario Human Rights Code?

The Ontario Human Rights Code and the AODA both deal with accessibility, but they are two very different pieces of legislation. The Ontario Human Rights Code addresses discrimination in an individual, complaints-based way. The Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation applies to all organizations in Ontario and will increase accessibility for all.

The Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation does not replace or affect legal rights or obligations that arise as a result of the Ontario Human Rights Code and other laws relating to the accommodation of people with disabilities. This means that the Ontario Human Rights Code or other applicable legislation may require additional accommodation measures that go beyond, or differ from, the standards established by AODA regulations.

What if the AODA standard conflicts with other laws?

If two laws conflict with each other, Section 38 of the AODA states that the law that provides the higher level of accessibility must be followed. When the Standards set rules that differ from  other laws, a provider may be required to comply with both. If in doubt, please contact the Human Rights Office.

Are there privacy-related laws?

It is important to understand that information about a disability is personal and private, and must be treated confidentially. In most cases, you do not need to ask for proof of a disability. Implementing the customer service standard should simply become part of everyday service delivery. Please contact the uOttawa Access to Information and Privacy Office to learn more about privacy.

Does my compliance with AODA standards mean that I will not receive any human rights complaints?

No. Meeting AODA standards does not guarantee that an organization has met Code requirements or that the organization will not receive human rights complaints, but it may lower the risk of complaints.

Social links

 

Facebook Link
Accessibility Hub on Facebook

 

Twitter Link
Accessibility Hub on Twitter

Social links

 

Facebook Link
Accessibility Hub on Facebook

 

Twitter Link
Accessibility Hub on Twitter
Back to top

Foire aux questions

FAQs

Est-ce que la LAPHO a remplacé le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario?

Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario et la LAPHO traitent tous deux d’accessibilité, mais il s’agit de textes législatifs très différents. Le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario est un texte législatif, axé sur les plaintes individuelles, qui traite de discrimination. Le Règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées s’applique à l’ensemble des organisations de l’Ontario et vise à accroître l’accessibilité pour tous.

Le Règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées ne remplace pas les droits ou les obligations légales établis en vertu du Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario et n’a aucune incidence sur ceux-ci. Il ne limite pas non plus les obligations à l’égard des personnes handicapées que prévoit tout autre texte législatif. Cela signifie que le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario ou un autre texte législatif applicable peut nécessiter l’adoption d’autres mesures d’adaptation allant au-delà des normes établies par les règlements de la LAPHO.

Que se passe-t-il en cas de conflit entre les normes de la LAPHO et d’autres lois?

En cas de conflit entre deux lois, l’article 38 de la LAPHO prévoit que celle qui procure le degré le plus élevé d’accessibilité doit être respectée. Là où une norme diffère d’autres lois, un fournisseur peut se voir obligé de se conformer aux deux. En cas de doute, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau des droits de la personne.

Existe-t-il des lois en matière de protection de la vie privée?

Il est important de comprendre la nature personnelle et privée des renseignements concernant un handicap, raison pour laquelle il est primordial d’en assurer la confidentialité. Dans la plupart des cas, il ne sera pas nécessaire d’exiger une preuve du handicap en question. Les Normes d’accessibilité pour le service à la clientèle doivent simplement être intégrées à la prestation quotidienne de services. Pour en savoir plus sur les lois en matière de protection de la vie privée, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée.

Le respect des normes de la LAPHO suffit-il à prévenir les plaintes relatives aux droits de la personne?

Non. Le respect des normes de la LAPHO ne garantit aucunement qu’une organisation ait satisfait aux exigences du code ou qu’elle ne reçoive pas de plaintes relatives aux droits de la personne. Toutefois, le nombre de celles-ci peut en être réduit.

Médias sociaux

 

Facebook Link
Carrefour accessibilité sur Facebook

 

Twitter Link
Carrefour accessibilité sur Twitter

Médias sociaux

 

Facebook Link
Carrefour accessibilité sur Facebook

 

Twitter Link
Carrefour accessibilité sur Twitter
Haut de page