Committee on Honorary Degrees


The Committee on Honorary Degrees is responsible for defining the University’s policy relative to honorary degrees, establishing standards for the selection of candidates, studying candidates for honorary degrees, and making recommendations relative to the granting of honorary degrees.

Terms of Reference


The Committee on Honorary Degrees was established on December 6, 1965 by resolution 4.73 of the Senate, amended on February 6, 1967 (Senate, page 4), on September 14, 1987 by resolution 87-88.10, on January 10, 2005 by resolution 2004-2005.33 and on November 1, 2010 by resolution 2010-2011.14.


The Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Senate.


The Committee is responsible for:

  • 1. defining the University’s policy relative to honorary degrees;
  • 2. establishing standards for the selection of candidates;
  • 3. studying candidates for honorary degrees;
  • 4. making recommendations to the Executive Committee of the Senate and the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors relative to the granting of honorary degrees.


The Committee’s membership is as follows:

  • 1. the President;
  • 2. the Vice-Presidents;
  • 3. the deans of faculties;
  • 4. two student Senators, one undergraduate and one graduate, elected by Senate.


  • 1. The President is the chairperson of the Committee.
  • 2. The Vice-President, Governance is the secretary of the Committee.


The Committee meets at the call of the chairperson.


A quorum is the majority of the members.


The Committee is responsible to the Senate.

Secretarial Services

Secretarial services are provided by the Office of the Vice-President, Governance.


Criteria for conferring honorary doctorates


Richard Barwell
Dean, Faculty of Education
End of Term: 2022-06-30

Jacques Beauvais
Dean, Faculty of Engineering
End of Term: 2020-06-30

Sylvain Charbonneau
Interim Vice-President, Research
End of Term: 2018-06-30

John Currie
Interim Vice-President, Governance
End of Term: 2017-11-27

Jacques Frémont
President and Vice-Chancellor
End of Term: 2021-06-30

David Graham
Vice-President, Academic and Provost
End of Term: 2019-04-30

Bernard Jasmin
Interim Dean, Faculty of Medicine
End of Term: 2018-06-30

Marc Joyal
Vice-President, Resources
End of Term: 2022-06-30

François Julien
Dean, Telfer School of Management
End of Term: 2021-06-30

Kevin Kee
Dean, Faculty of Arts
End of Term: 2020-06-30

François Larocque
Interim Dean, Faculty of Law, Common Law Section

Céline Lévesque
Dean, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section
End of Term: 2019-06-30

Maurice Lévesque
Interim Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences

Hélène Perrault
Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences
End of Term: 2018-07-31

Steve Perry
Dean, Faculty of Science
End of Term: 2018-06-30

Leslie Weir
University Librarian
End of Term: 2017-12-31

Back to top