Ricardo Miranda has been the Minister responsible for the Francophone Secretariat in Alberta since 2016. He is also the Minister of Culture and Tourism.

The Francophone Secretariat ensures liaison between the government and the province’s Francophone community. It presents the needs of the Francophone community before government, the departments and government agencies. It also represents Franco-Albertans and Alberta at the Federal-Provincial-Territorial Ministerial Conference on Francophone Affairs and it participates in the negotiations for federal-provincial agreements on the French language and culture[1].

[1] Government of Alberta, Francophone Secretariat, Mandate. Page consulted online on November 2, 2016.

Overview of the Laws, Policies and Regulations

English is the official language of Alberta. The Languages Act, or Bill 60, was adopted in 1989 and revised in 2000. Under this Act, the province’s acts and regulations are written and published in English. The use of French is permitted in the Legislative Assembly and in verbal communications before the following provincial courts: Court of Appeal, Court of Queen’s Bench, and Provincial Court. The Languages in the Courts Regulation specifies the modalities under which a trial can take place in French or in English and French.

The regulations and records of the Assembly are also written and printed in English. If the Assembly adopted a resolution, part or all of the records or journals could be written and published in English, in French or in both languages.

In June 2017, the Government of Alberta established the French Policy. It “outlines the guiding principles the Government of Alberta will use to help maintain existing and develop new French language services and supports. The policy also creates more opportunities to recognize the past and present contributions of Alberta’s Francophonie. A highlight of the policy is the elevation of the Franco-Albertan flag to a Symbol of Distinction under the Emblems of Alberta Act, recognizing French as one of Canada’s official languages.”[1]

[1] Government of Alberta, Alberta unveils first French policy. Page consulted on December 4, 2017.

Back to top