Faculty Council June 21, 2019 10<sup>th</sup> meeting

1:00 to 4:00 p.m. LMX 477



Attendees: L. Angers, R. Barwell (Chair), S. Chitpin, E. Duplàa, R. Kane, M. Foka,

N. Ng-A-Fook, M. Schira-Hagerman, M. Théberge, H. Woods

Excused: F. Bangou, A.-M. Dionne, E. Dionne, H. Greenstone, N. Ricci, A. Samson,

D. Smith, C. Suurtamm, L. Trudel,

Invitees: G. Breton-Harper, M. Clément, R. Leblanc St-Denis

### **Minutes**

# 10.01 Adoption of the Agenda

By a resolution duly proposed and seconded, the agenda was unanimously adopted.

# 10.02 Adoption of the Minutes of the May 17, 2019 Meeting

By a resolution duly proposed and seconded, the minutes were adopted.

In favor: 6

Abstention: 3

# 10.03 Business Arising from the May 17, 2019 Meeting

- a) <u>Three-Year Hiring Plan</u>: The Dean has presented the Faculty of Education plan to the other Deans and to the Provost. In the coming days, the Provost's office will communicate the final decision to each Faculty.
- b) <u>Ashbury College Agreement</u>: The Dean will soon meet with the Director of Ashbury College and will sign an Agreement for a period of three years.
- c) <u>Faculty of Education Declaration on the International Decade for People of African Descent</u>: The document has been returned from the linguistic services of the University. An event will be organized in the Fall. June Girvan and Faculty of Education students will be invited.

#### 10.04 New Business

#### a) Equity

i) <u>Bill 21</u>: A Faculty of Education student wrote an e-mail to the professors of the Faculty of Education asking if Faculty members *could issue a public statement condemning this bill and standing in solidarity with affected teachers*. Faculty Council

members discussed the Bill and agreed that a statement should be made opposing the new law. A draft statement was proposed to Council members. After discussion, Faculty Council members were invited to send their comments/suggestions by e-mail to the Dean. A new version will be sent out to the Faculty council members by e-mail for further consulation.

ii) Incident black student harassed by University security: Following an incident on campus where a black student was apparently victim of a racial profiling by a University security agent, it is difficult to issue an opinion on this incident since there is an ongoing investigation. Concrete actions from the Faculty could include inviting researchers to give seminars that would help members of our community to be more open towards diversity.

## b) Budget Update

The situation is the same as reported in May.

# c) Nomination of the Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs

According to Bylaw 3, section 3.2.3, a selection committee, chaired by the Dean, met with two candidates proposed by the Faculty and who had expressed their interest for the position of Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs. The selection committee has unanimously recommended that professor Francis Bangou be nominated as Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs. This recommendation was sent to the Faculty members asking for their comments on this nomination. Nine professors sent anonymous written comments to the Dean. The comments were all positive. Those comments were submitted to the members of the Executive Committee who unanimously recommended that the Faculty Council approves Professor Bangou's nomination as Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs.

*Motion:* It is proposed by M. Théberge, seconded by R. Kane, that professor Francis Bangou be nominated as Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs for a period of 3 years, starting on July 1, 2019 and ending on June 30, 2022.

### Unanimous.

The Dean and the members of the Faculty Council thank Professor André Samson for his work as Vice-Dean, Governance and Student Affairs from 2016-2019.

# d) Graduate Studies Programs Evaluation Report

Professors M. Théberge and R. Kane, Directors of the Graduate Studies programs, made a presentation on the changes made to the evaluation report, at the request of the Central Administration, on the following: Description, Programs, Number of courses, Applications and registration, strengths and challenges.

At a special Graduate Studies Program Committee meeting, Faculty members shared valuable information with the Directors; those comments were incorporated in the document. The external evaluators will be at the Faculty on October 18, 2019.

*Motion:* It is proposed by E. Duplàa, seconded by N. Ng-A-Fook, that the report be approved by the Faculty Council.

### Unanimous.

# e) Nominations for Statutory Committees

A memorandum was sent to the Faculty members on June 3, 2019, with a list of all the seats to be filled in the different statutory committees for the period 2019-2021. A compilation of all the candidacies were presented to the Faculty Council for approval:

Educational Policy Committee (1 vacant seat):

- Chitpin, Stephanie

Committee on Research and Staff Development (4 vacant seats):

- Morawski, Cynthia
- Brunet, Marie-Hélène
- Tippet, Christine
- Sénéchal, Carole

Graduate Program Executive Committee (4 vacant seats):

- Moreau, Katherine, Anglophone sector
- Tippett, Christine, Anglophone sector

Graduate Program Admissions Committee (3 vacant seats):

- Duchesne, Claire, Francophone sector
- Fleming, Douglas, Anglophone sector

A few seats are still to be filled in the following committees: Scholarship Committee (2), Graduate Program Executive Committee (2 Francophone), Graduate Program Admissions Committee (1 Counseling Psychology). The remaining members will be approved at the first Faculty Council in September 2019.

*Motion:* It is proposed by M. Théberge, seconded by M. Hagerman, that the composition of the Statutory committees be approved.

### **Unanimous**

### **10.05** Reports (See annexes)

- a) Students
- b) Christine Suurtamm, Vice-Dean, Research
- c) Emmanuel Duplàa, Vice-Dean, Programs

Admissions for the various programs are going well and all part-time professors have been hired for next year.

d) Richard Barwell, Dean

### 10.06 Other business

The Dean took the opportunity to thank the outgoing members, Anne-Marie Dionne and Michelle Hagerman, for their service within the Faculty Council. Professor Hagerman will be replaced by Professor Maurice Taylor. Professor Dionne's replacement has not been elected yet.

# 10.07 Minutes of the Executive Committee meeting of May 6, 2019

# 10.08 Next meeting

September 2019