Faculty Alumni Win Local Bar Awards

Faculty of Law - Common Law Section
Awards and recognition

By Common Law

Communication, Faculty of Law

Congratulations to several Common Law Section alum chosen as the 2023 winners of awards from the County of Carleton Law Association (CCLA):
  • Richard Addelman, LLB ’69, and Thomas G. Conway, LLB ’87, were the latest recipients of the Carleton Medal, awarded to a lawyer who is most deserving of recognition for great diligence, high ideals, and outstanding leadership in the practice of law throughout their career.   

  • Jean-François Laberge LLB ’05, recipient of the Gordon F. Henderson Award, awarded to the lawyer who has made a significant contribution to the welfare of the community by performing charitable services on behalf of the community. 

  • Reem Zaia, JD ’15, recipient of the Regional Senior Justice Award, given to the lawyer in practice ten years or less who has made an outstanding contribution through their excellence as a professional, as well as outside the profession by making an outstanding contribution to the community. 

  • Kathryn d’Artois, LLB ’86, for receiving The Hon. Heidi Levenson Polowin Award for Family Law, recognizing someone who has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of family law through their career. 

The CCLA Awards Gala was held Thursday, June 15, 2023.