Members

Lynn Bloom, BSW, MSW, RSW
Adjunct Professor
Department of Innovation in Medical Education
lfbloom@bell.net

Research interests: Faculty Development in the Medical Humanities, Reflective Writing and Mindfulness for Medical Students, Interprofessional Teaching of interviewing Skills to Medical Students, Theatre and Medicine, Visual Arts and Medicine, VTS (Visual Thinking Strategies) in Medical Education

Jacques Bradwejn, MD, FRCPC, DABPN
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine
jbradwej@uottawa.ca

Research Interests: Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Psychiatry, Meditation, Psychotherapy, Philosophy, East-West Approaches, Anxiety, Wellness

Catherine Collobert, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Philosophy
Faculty of Arts
catherine.collobert@uottawa.ca

Research Interests: Contemplative philosophy in Ancient Greece and Buddhism (comparative studies).

Professor Collobert currently teaches mindfulness meditation classes at the University of Ottawa

Michelle Fortier, Ph.D.
Professor, Excercise and Happiness Psychologist, School of Human Kinetics
Faculty of Health Sciences
mfortier@uottawa.ca

Research Interests: Mindfulness and happiness; Positive psychology; Excercise psychology.

Douglas Green, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of Medicine

Research Interests: Mindfulness in anxiety and depression; Mindfulness as part of self-care

Veronika Huta Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
Faculty of Social Science
vhuta@uottawa.ca

 

Research Interests: Eudaimonic orientation – the pursuit of authenticity, meaning, excellence, and growth
Experiences of meaning, elevation, and self-connectedness

Curtis Lavoie MD, CCFP, FCFP (EM)
Assistant Professor and Emergency Medicine Physician
Department of Pediatrics
clavoie@cheo.on.ca

Research Interests: Anxiety, physician wellbeing, and mindfulness and anxiety disorders; outcome feedback in emergency medicine and environmental sustainability in health care.

Rebecca J. Lloyd, Ph.D. Curriculum & Implementation
Associate Professor
Faculty of Education
rlloyd@uottawa.ca

Research Interests: Mindfulness in teacher education; Mindfulness in movement; the Phenomenology of mindfulness; Bodyfulness; Movement consciousness

André Longtin, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Physics
alongtin@uottawa.ca

Research Interests: Neurophysics and nonlinear dynamics; Theoretical Neuroscience;Theoretical and computational studies of the nervous system.

 

Erin McCarthy, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Philosophy
St. Lawrence University
emccarthy@stlawu.edu

Research Interests: Medieval Japanese philosopher Dōgen; feminist and contemplative pedagogies; integration of contemplative practice and academic study.

Howard Nathan, MD
Professor, Department of Anesthesiology
Faculty of Medicine
hnathan@ottawaheart.ca

Research Interests: Chronic pain, clinical trials, neurobiology

Georg Northoff, M.D., Ph.D
EJLB-CIHR Michael Smith Chair in Neurosciences and Mental Health
Canada Research Chair for Mind, Brain Imaging and Neuroethics, University of Ottawa
georg.northoff@theroyal.ca

Research Interests: Consciousness, biochemical mechanisms underlying the sense of self, depression, schizophrenia and brain imaging

 

Kelley A. Raab, Ph.D., M.Div.
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Faculty of of Medicine
Royal Ottawa Mental-Health Centre
kelley.raab@theroyal.ca

Research Interests: Clinical research, particularly mood and anxiety disorders

Andra Smith, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology
Faculty of Social Sciences
asmith@uottawa.ca asmith@uOttawa.ca

Neural correlates of mindfulness; how mindfulness changes our brain; mindfulness as a tool for children to manage stress.

Angela Sumegi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, College of the Humanities
Carleton University
angela.sumegi@carleton.ca

Research Interests: Indo-Tibetan Buddhism; Religious responses to death

Lisa Walker, Ph.D.
Clinical Professor, Department of Psychology
Ottawa General Hospital
lwalker@toh.ca

Research Interests: mindfulness in multiple sclerosis patients

 

Back to top