Growing a business, one seed at a time

Chuck Rifici will receive the Faculty of Engineering’s first Alumnus/Alumna Entrepreneur of the Year award.

By Kyle Bournes

It's Friday morning at an Ottawa west-end coffee shop, where I'm waiting for Chuck Rifici, one of 2014's most talked and written about Ottawa entrepreneurs. He walks in looking relaxed and, no doubt, ready for a morning coffee, while I anticipate a conversation with this successful 2002 uOttawa computer engineering alumnus.

Rifici is co-founder and former CEO of Tweed Inc., a producer of medical marijuana based in Smiths Falls, just 50 minutes west of Ottawa. In 2013, Tweed announced it was setting up shop in the former Hershey chocolate factory. This was welcome news for a town that had lost 600 jobs when Hershey closed its doors in 2008, after 45 years. Today, Tweed is hiring and 50 to 70% of employees call Smiths Falls and its neighbouring communities home.

I ask Rifici about his simple gray t-shirt with white lettering spelling out four or five words stacked like a grocery store shopping list: "herringbone," "argyle," "houndstooth" and so on. Rifici tells me these are names of medical marijuana strains that Tweed produces. The T-shirts are worn by staff and are not available for purchase. It becomes clear to me that this new biopharmaceutical startup is not interested in being conventional. The hip look and feel of Tweed is part of the company's marketing strategy.

For Rifici and his team, the period from fall 2013 to fall 2014 was very busy.

Over the year, Tweed:

  • Constructed the Smiths Falls production facility and starting growing operations
  • Was licensed by Health Canada to produce and sell medical marijuana
  • Transformed itself into a public company trading on the TSX-V Exchange with $28,000,000 in capital
  • Established an online store (the first products were shipped to patients-clients in May 2014)
  • Became the world's largest legal medical marijuana greenhouse after acquiring Park Lane Farms, a 350,000 sq. ft. greenhouse facility in the Niagara-on-the-Lake area (Smiths Falls facility is 150,000 sq. ft.)
  • Started research partnerships with the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Science and Ryerson University.
Close up of marijuana buds held by a hand in a latex glove.

Medical marijuana. Photo: Tweed Inc.

Along the way Rifici and Tweed were featured in the Ottawa Citizen and the Ottawa Sun, as well as in global media outlets such as the New York Times,, the Huffington PostBloomberg Business Weekand And to think that the company did not even have a payroll until August 2013.

It's been quite a ride.

Rifici started his first company, Comnet Communications, in 1995, as an engineering undergraduate. It took him eight years to finish his degree, but studying part time was worth it, because he and his business partner sold the company for $1 million, in 2001. This enabled Rifici to invest in himself by earning an MBA degree. Following a few years as an executive at Sitebrand, an online marketing company, Rifici established himself as a CFO for hire, offering his skills and knowledge on contract to successful start-ups such as TekSavvy and Select Start Studios.

It's fair to say that Chuck Rifici and Tweed Inc. have become synonymous with medical marijuana and entrepreneurship in Canada, even though he stepped aside as its CEO in August 2014.

Unsurprisingly, all of his successes and accolades over the past year have been noticed by the Faculty of Engineering. He will receive its inaugural Alumnus/Alumna Entrepreneur of the Year award on March 10, when he returns to campus to deliver the keynote address at the Entrepreneurship Bridges Lecture, entitled Growing Green: Lessons from Serial Entrepreneur Chuck Rifici (co-founder, Tweed Inc.).

Main photo:
Chuck Rifici stands by marijuana plants at the Tweed Inc. facility. Photo: Tweed Inc.

Television cameras film technicians amid rows of marijuana plants at Tweed Inc.

Television cameras film technicians amid rows of marijuana plants at Tweed Inc. Photo: Tweed Inc.


Back to top

Growing a business, one seed at a time

Chuck Rifici a été choisi lauréat du premier prix Diplômé-entrepreneur de l’année de la Faculté de génie.

Par Kyle Bournes

Installé dans un café de l'ouest d'Ottawa par un bon vendredi matin, j'attends Chuck Rifici, l'un des entrepreneurs dont on a le plus parlé dans la région en 2014. Il entre d'un pas nonchalant et, de toute évidence, prêt pour son café matinal. Je me réjouis à l'idée de m'entretenir avec ce diplômé prospère de la promotion 2002 du programme de génie informatique de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Chuck Rifici est cofondateur et ancien PDG de Tweed Inc., producteur de marijuana à des fins médicales établi à Smiths Falls, à 50 minutes à l'ouest d'Ottawa. En 2013, Tweed a annoncé qu'il s'installait dans l'ancienne usine de chocolat de Hershey. C'était une bonne nouvelle pour cette municipalité, qui avait perdu 600 emplois quand Hershey avait fermé ses portes en 2008, après 45 ans d'activité. Tweed est maintenant en recrutement, et de 50 à 70 % de ses employés viennent de Smiths Falls et des environs.

La conversation dévie alors sur son t-shirt gris tout simple, sur lequel figurent des mots en lettres blanches. Je lui demande ce que signifient ces quatre ou cinq mots placés l'un par-dessus l'autre, à la manière d'une liste d'épicerie : herringboneargylehoundstooth, etc. Chuck Rifici me répond que ce sont toutes des variétés de marijuana à des fins médicales que Tweed produit pour ses patient-clients. Les t-shirts sont portés par le personnel et ne sont pas à vendre. Je commence à comprendre que cette jeune société biopharmaceutique de marijuana à des fins médicales n'aspire aucunement à devenir une entreprise conventionnelle. L'image branchée de Tweed fait partie intégrante de sa stratégie de marketing.

Pour Rifici et son équipe de Tweed, la période de l'automne 2013 à l'automne 2014 aura été très occupée. Voici un aperçu de ce qu'ils ont accompli :

  • Construire l'usine de Tweed et commencer la production.
  • Obtenir le permis de Santé Canada pour produire et vendre de la marijuana à des fins médicales.
  • Transformer Tweed en société ouverte cotée à la Bourse de croissance TSX et obtenir 28 000 000 $ en capital.
  • Ouvrir un magasin en ligne. Le premier envoi de produits à des patients-clients s'est fait en mai 2014.
  • Devenir le plus grand producteur mondial autorisé à produire de la marijuana à des fins médicales en serre après avoir acheté Park Lane Farms, une serre de 350 000 pi2 située dans la région de Niagara-on-the-Lake en Ontario (l'usine de Smiths Falls fait 150 000 pi2).
  • Amorcer un partenariat de recherche avec la Faculté des sciences de l'Université d'Ottawa et l'Université Ryerson.
Close up of marijuana buds held by a hand in a latex glove.

Marijuana à des fins médicales. Photo : Tweed Inc.

Pendant la même période, M. Rifici et Tweed ont fait l'objet de reportages dans l'Ottawa Citizen et l'Ottawa Sun, de même que dans des médias internationaux comme le New York TimesAl-Jazeera.com, le Huffington PostBloomberg Business Week et Vice.com. Et dire que l'entreprise n'avait aucun employé avant août 2013.

Il n'y a pas à dire, ce fut toute une année.

On peut affirmer à juste titre qu'il est désormais naturel d'associer les noms de Chuck Rifici et de Tweed Inc. à la marijuana à des fins médicales et à l'entrepreneuriat au Canada. Il a quitté la direction de l'entreprise en août 2014.

Chuck Rifici a démarré sa première entreprise, Comnet Communications, en 1995. Il était alors étudiant de premier cycle en génie. Il lui a fallu huit ans pour obtenir son baccalauréat, mais le jeu en aura valu la chandelle, parce que son partenaire d'affaires et lui ont vendu l'entreprise pour un million de dollars en 2001. C'est ce qui lui a permis d'investir dans son avenir et de s'inscrire à la maîtrise en administration des affaires. Après quelques années comme cadre chez Sitebrand, une entreprise de marketing en ligne, M. Rifici a offert ses services comme directeur financier. Des entreprises en démarrage comme TekSavvy et Select Start Studios ont retenu ses services et profité de ses compétences et de son savoir-faire.

Il va sans dire que les succès et les reconnaissances de M. Rifici dans la dernière année ne sont pas passées inaperçues à la Faculté de génie. Chuck Rifici a été choisi lauréat du premier prix Diplômé-entrepreneur de l'année. La Faculté lui remettra son prix le 10 mars 2015 à l'occasion de son passage à l'Université pour prononcer une conférence Comment cultiver le succès : leçons de Chuck Rifici, entrepreneur chevronné et cofondateur de Tweed Inc., de la série Ponts de l'entrepreneuriat.

Photo principale :
Chuck Rifici debout à côté de plants de marijuana à l'usine Tweed Inc. Photo : Tweed Inc.

Television cameras film technicians amid rows of marijuana plants at Tweed Inc.

Des caméramans filment des techniciens au milieu de rangées de plants chez Tweed Inc. Photo : Tweed Inc.

 

Haut de page