Selection of syringes prepared for anesthesia

Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine

In anesthesiology, we have a strong tradition of developing great physicians.

What's New?

  • Dr. Manoj Lalu has joined the senior leadership team of the OHRI as the new Associate Scientific Director, Training. His five-year term begins June 1, 2024.
  • Dr. Kimmo Murto has been appointed as the University of Ottawa Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine (DAPM) Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs, effective June 1, 2024. 
  • Dr. Claudia Gomez has been appointed as the next Clinical Competence Committee Chair for the uOttawa Anesthesiology Residency Program, effective July 1, 2024.
  • After a successful term as Interim Vice Chair of Education, Dr. Simone Crooks has been appointed to the position on a permanent basis, effective immediately. Dr. Crooks will be taking on the responsibilities and challenges of this vital role with the same dedication and passion that she has consistently demonstrated throughout her tenure in the department. 
  • Dr. Chris Durr has been appointed as the next Resident Site Coordinator at the General Campus, effective July 1, 2024. His extensive involvement in educational initiatives, such as launching teaching sessions and contributing to exam preparations, will make him an asset to our residency program.
  • Dr. Anna Wyand has been appointed as the next Pre-Anesthesia Unit (PAU) Corporate Medical Director, effective February 1, 2024. Her leadership experience as Medical Director of the Perioperative Assessment Unit (since 2020), Perioperative Medicine Fellow Lead (since 2019), and co-Lead for the Perioperative Medicine Anesthesia Residency CBD (since 2013) will serve her well in this new role. 
  • Victory for VICTORY! Our research team was successful in securing $1.37 million of funding over 4 years for Virtual, Innovative, postsurgical Care To Optimize Return home for older people with frailtY: the VICTORY randomized trial. This funding will support a multicenter RCT comparing a virtual, frailty-tailored post-discharge care program to routine post-discharge care for surgical patients with frailty in Ottawa, Edmonton, Hamilton and Kingston.  Congratulations to Drs Aucoin, McIsaac and Lalu and all department members involved in the proposal.
  • View the 2021-23 DAPM Annual Report.
  • Congratulations to Dr. David Neilipovitz on his appointment as Chair/Head of the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, for a five-year term effective January 1, 2024.
  • Dr. George Dumitrascu has been appointed as the next Site Chief for the Civic Campus, effective January 1, 2024.
    George joined The Ottawa Hospital’s Civic Campus in June 2006 after completing his residency training at Stanford University in 2002.  Since then, he has served as the department's Director of the Anesthesia Simulation Program from 2006-2009, the DAPM Corporate Fellowship Director from 2009-2019, and the DAPM Director of Obstetric Anesthesia from 2012-2023. This leadership experience will serve George well in his new role as the Civic Campus Site Chief. 
  • Dr. Viren Naik appointed to Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of The Medical Council of Canada (MCC), effective January 1, 2024.
  • Dr. Alan Chaput was appointed Vice-Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education (UGME) at the Faculty of Medicine for a five-year term effective January 1, 2023. In this role, Dr. Chaput joins the Executive Leadership Team (ELT) of the Faculty.
  • Dr. Dina Aboutouk has been honored with the Faculty of Medicine Educator Award for Collaborator Competency. Dina's commitment to excellence in education and her exemplary collaborative skills have undoubtedly contributed to her receiving this award. Congratulations!
  • The International Anesthesia Research Society recently published an interview with our very own Dr. Dan McIsaac regarding the first prehab trial funded by their Mentored Research Award. Click to read the story.
  • Introducing the new MAID Medical Director! - Dr. Wesley Edwards.
    Dr. Edwards has been a staff anesthesiologist at The Ottawa Hospital for the past 8 years and is currently the Head of obstetric anesthesia at The General Campus.  He has a Master of Public Health, with his non-clinical focus being maternal heath surveillance.  He sits on national committees for the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society, the Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists of Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada, advising on research and surveillance priorities for maternal and child health in Canada.  He has also been on the Ottawa Health Science Network Research Ethics Board for the past 6 years.  He has been a valuable member of the Champlain region MAiD team, both assessing and providing MAiD to patients in hospital and the community.
    He takes over from Dr. Viren Naik, who led the team as Medical Director for the program through its initial development when MAID was legalized in 2016. Congratulations to Dr. Naik for his appointment as CEO of the Medical Council of Canada – we know he will do great things!
  • Dr. Alvin Tieu receives the Worton Researcher in Training Award! Click to learn more - Powering up the body’s EVs
  • Dr. Daniel McIsaac was interviewed by Health about how exercising before surgery can reduce complications.
  • DAPM Dragonboat Event
    This much anticipated event took place on September 14, 2023. Click here to read the race report, and here to watch the video!

Career Opportunities

We're hiring! Check out our careers page for a list of Academic Staff opportunities at the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine.

Clinical Services