The composition of the Management Committee includes members ex officio: the Director; the Assistant Director; one member from each of the sponsoring faculties (Law and Social Sciences); in cases where the Gordon F. Henderson Chair does not happen to be the Director, the holder of the Gordon F. Henderson Human Rights Chair; and a representative of the Centre’s students.

The Management Committee assist the Directors in overseeing the Centre’s management, in implementing a strategic plan, in preparing annual reports, in fundraising and in managing Centre finances; assist the Assistant Director in developing policies and protocols regarding day-to-day activities, expenditure policies, fundraising and use of physical space; assist the Directors in selecting members and in developing policies about membership, public programming, and community outreach.

The Director, with assistance from the Assistant Director, prepares a five-year Strategic Plan for the Centre in relation to its research, teaching, outreach and related activities. The Centre also produces an Annual Report setting out the most important initiatives and achievements in the year just ended.


Members of the Management Committee:

  • Nadia Abu-Zahra (Faculty of Social Sciences)
  • Slava Balan (Ph. D. Candidate in Law)
  • Karen Eltis (Faculty of Law - Civil Law Section)
  • Penelope Simons (Faculty of Law - Common Law Section)
  • Jabeur Fathally (HRREC Interim Director, Faculty of Law - Civil Law Section)
  • Viviana Fernandez (Assistant Director, HRREC)