The Advisory Committee of the Ombudsperson consists of eight members, four of whom are appointed by the University and four by the student unions.

The Ombudsperson is not a member of the Advisory Committee. The Committee provides support to the Ombudsperson in his or her functions with particular attention to ensuring the independent and confidential nature of that function.

In particular, the Committee recommends the budget for the Office of the Ombudsperson and ensures that the Ombudsperson’s report is distributed at large to the University Community. It also acts as selection committee for the position of Ombudsperson and is responsible for evaluating the work of the Ombudsperson.

For more information on the role of the committee, refer to Regulation 127 on the Ombudsperson, section 13.

Members of the Advisory Committee


  • Nesrine Cherif, Graduate Student
  • Alison Flynn, Professor
  • Tim Gulliver, Undergraduate Student
  • Catherine Paquet, Support Staff
  • Armaan Singh Kheppar, Undergraduate Student
  • Véronic Tardif, Support Staff
  • Moussa Thiam, Graduate Student
  • Joel Westheimer, Professor