Last Update: September 2022


Support Staff

Management team

Salah Basalamah

Chair, School of Translation and Interpretation
Hamelin Hall, Room 443
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 5739
[email protected]

Rainier Grutman

Chair, Graduate Studies Committee*
Simard Hall, Room 311
Telephone:  613-562-5800, ext. 1101
[email protected]

Clara Foz

Chair, Undergraduate Studies Committee**
Hamelin Hall, Room 524
Telephone:  613-562-5800, ext. 3174
[email protected]

Alexandre Dubé-Belzile

Internship coordinator (external practica, co-op) 
[email protected]

*Graduate Studies Committee is responsible for the content and management of the graduate programs. 

** Undergraduate Studies Committee is responsible for the content and management of the undergraduate programs.
The undergraduate and graduate committees consist of a chairperson and two members elected among regular professors. The director is an ex officio member of these committees. The members of both committees are elected by the Departmental assembly. In principle, members are elected for a (renewable) term of two years starting July 1 and ending June 30. Each committee is convened by its chairperson as the need arises.

Administrative staff

Monica Batallanos

Senior Administrative Officer
Hamelin Hall, Room 448
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 1757
[email protected]

Arts Graduate Secretariat

Academic Assistant - Graduate studies
Desmarais Building, Room 8166
Telephone: 613-562-5800, ext. 3539
[email protected]

Arts Secretariat

Academic Assistant - Undergraduate studies
Simard Hall, Room 128
Telephone: 613-562-5134

Donna Desbiens

Information Officer
Hamelin Hall, Room 401
Telephone: 613-562-5719
[email protected]

Indigenous Affirmation

We pay respect to the Algonquin people, who are the traditional guardians of this land. We acknowledge their longstanding relationship with this territory, which remains unceded. 

We pay respect to all Indigenous people in this region, from all nations across Canada, who call Ottawa home. 

We acknowledge the traditional knowledge keepers, both young and old. And we honour their courageous leaders: past, present, and future. 

Learn more about the Indigenous Affirmation.