Fellowship Program

The Faculty of Medicine’s Department of Radiology is fully associated with the Department of Medical Imaging at The Ottawa Hospital. Our department performs more than 500,000 imaging tests per year.

Director of Radiology Fellowship Programs: Dr. Wael Shabana, MD
Program Administrator: Roula Al-Sharkaoui

We offer 10 fellowship training programs in:

  • Abdominal imaging
  • Angiography/intervention
  • Breast imaging
  • Cardiac imaging
  • Cardiothoracic imaging
  • ER / trauma
  • Musculoskeletal imaging
  • Diagnostic Neuroradiology
  • Interventional Neuroradiology
  • Thoracic imaging

The academic year runs from July 1st to June 30th. For any inquiry regarding these programs, please contact Roula Al-Sharkaoui.

Fellowship candidates must have completed an accredited radiology training program and be either certified or eligible for certification by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in Diagnostic Imaging, The American Board of Radiology, or certified with equivalent qualifications from another country. The candidate must also be proficient in both written and spoken English. Proof of qualifications must be provided by all applicants.

The deadline for 2026 - 2027 applications is September 30, 2024. The uOttawa application website will be open from June 1 - September 30, 2024.

Application Procedure for Canadian Trained Candidates

  • Applications must be submitted via email to Roula Al-Sharkaoui at [email protected].
  • Cover letter must indicate name of subspecialty fellowship
  • Personal statement
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Copy of Canadian medical degree and Canadian specialty degree
  • Three reference letters

Application Procedure for Foreign Fellowship Candidates (or Canadian Permanent Residents with foreign MD/specialty degrees including US citizens)

Please apply using the uOttawa Faculty of Medicine’s Application website under Fellowship Programs.



Contact Us


501 Smyth Road, Box 232
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada K1H 8L6
Tel: 613-737-8571
Fax: 613-737-8830

Taylor Widenmaier
Interim Administrative Coordinator
E-mail: [email protected]