The University of Ottawa is pleased to announce the formation of an Open Science Working Group, co-chaired by Martine Lagacé, Associate Vice-President of Research, Promotion and Development and Talia Chung, University Librarian and Dean of Libraries.

This work is especially timely as we observe numerous national and international developments in the open science policy landscape, including the Tri-Agencies recent announcement for the review of the Open Access Policy on Publications. The working group will be charged with examining the current state of open science at uOttawa and work to define uOttawa’s goals towards open research practices, considering disciplinary practices, our francophonie mission, and recognizing the need for a distinctions-based approach as it relates to projects engaging with First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities.   

The working group will recommend to the Research Commission an action plan to position uOttawa as an open science leader, and ensure the University remains a competitive collaborator in national and international contexts and well positioned to advance cutting edge and impactful research.   

The Open Science Working Group will consider the following questions within the context of uOttawa’s academic mission:  

  • In order to achieve the vision set out in Transformation 2030, how can the university leverage existing open science strengths and further promote open practices?  
  • What set of principles can the university develop to guide open practices and open access investments, to support uOttawa’s research activities?  
  • How can uO support and incentivize open research practices via the creation, dissemination, and accessibility of research in French, which is fundamental to uOttawa’s mandate?  
  • What approaches and best practices are adopted by peer institutions, in Canada and internationally, to increase uptake of open science?   

Working Group members

  • Talia Chung, University Librarian and Dean of Libraries, Co-Chair  
  • Martine Lagacé, Associate Vice-President, Research, Promotion, and Development, Co-Chair  
  • Stefanie Haustein (Arts), Special Advisor to the chairs of the Working Group, Associate Professor School of Information Studies (ÉSIS) and co-director of the ScholCommLab   
  • Leigh-Ann Butler, Scholarly Communications Librarian (ex-officio)  
  • Daniel Amyot (Faculty of Engineering)  
  • Matthieu Boisgontier (Faculty of Health Sciences)  
  • Kelly Cobey (Medicine and the University of Ottawa Heart Institute)  
  • Éric Dionne (Faculty of Education) 
  • Mistrale Goudreau (Faculty de Law – Common Law)  
  • Sylvie Grosjean (Faculty of Arts)  
  • Evelyn Micelotta (Telfer School of Management)  
  • Jonathan Paquette (Faculty of Social Sciences and Director of the Collège des chaires de recherche sur le monde francophone)  
  • Mark Salter (Faculty of Social Sciences)  
  • Teresa Scassa (Faculty of Law – Common Law)  
  • Lara Mainville (uO Press)  
  • Gishleine Oukouomi Djouonang (PhD student, Faculty of Social Sciences) 
chat loading...