A researcher receiving an award

Awards and recognition

Awards and distinctions have become a key component of our strategic plan to promote research excellence and enhance our university’s visibility.

Celebrating success

We have put into place several initiatives and mechanisms to foster a culture of research excellence, increase recognition opportunities for our researchers and celebrate success.

Our approach to reaching our goals includes:

  • Promoting awards as a means to further our researchers’ career growth and attainment of their own research and knowledge mobilization goals.
  • A strong commitment toward making equity, diversity and inclusion an integral part of all processes;
  • Celebrating achievement within and outside the uOttawa community.

Latest award recipients' stories

More stories
Awards and recognition
A cargo ship in Arctic waters.
Awards and recognition

Mitigating the impact of climate change and shipping in the Arctic

University of Ottawa researcher Jackie Dawson is heading back north to study the impact and risk of marine shipping in Arctic Canada, thanks to support from the National Killam Program.
Awards and recognition
2024 uOttawa early career research award winners Florian Martin-Barriteau and Eva Hemmer.
Awards and recognition

Transformative health tech and responsible AI

Two uOttawa innovators recognized with early career researcher awards.
Awards and recognition
Professors Abdelhamid Sayari and Ebrahim Karimi
Awards and recognition

Two Faculty of Science professors receive Royal Society of Canada medals

Professors Abdelhamid Sayari and Ebrahim Karimi receive well-deserved recognition for their visionary research.
Indigenous woman in front of a class

Equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI)

The Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation (OVPRI) is committed to fostering a research environment that provides equitable opportunities for everyone and that respects and values diversity and inclusion.
Learn more EDI in research

Internal competitions

The Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation recognizes researchers for research projects with high impact through two annual internal competitions.

Advisory committee

A committee sitting at a table

The Advisory Committee for Research Prizes and Awards is mandated by the OVPRI to support the University in its efforts to promote research excellence through prizes and distinctions, and increase its visibility on the national and international scene.


Howard Rundle (Faculty of Science)


TBD (Faculty of Arts)
Robert-Falcon Ouellette (Faculty of Education)
Mamadou Fall (Faculty of Engineering)
Janet Squires (Faculty of Health Sciences)
Emmanuelle Bernheim (Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section)
Jennifer Chandler (Faculty of Law, Common Law Section)
Barbara Vanderhyden (Faculty of Medicine)
Stephen Brown (Faculty of Social Sciences)
Cheryl McWatters (Telfer School of Management)

Connect with us

Office of the Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Tabaret Hall
550 Cumberland St.
Room 246
Ottawa ON Canada
K1N 6N5

Tel: 613-562-5270
[email protected]

Contact our services

Awards and recognition

Marie-Claude Tremblay
Research Prizes and Awards Manager

Tel: 613-562-5800 ext. 3470
[email protected]