The Alumni Award is given every year as part of the Dean’s Excellence Awards Ceremony, which highlights the innovation and important being done at the Faculty.

We’re very fortunate to have many distinguished alumni. Since 2019, we have been recognizing alumni with exceptional career achievements who have made a significant impact on individuals, an organization, a community or society as a whole.

Recipients of the Alumni Award


Jean François Ménard
BHSc (2005), MA(2017)
President and Founder – Mental Performance Expert , Kambio Performance Inc.

Jean François Ménard is the recipient of this award for his leadership in the field of performance psychology. With an exceptional career, he has worked with Cirque du Soleil performers, Olympic medalists, National Hockey League stars, surgeons, musicians, and other high performance athletes. He has made a significant impact in his field.

He is the author of "Train Your Brain Like An Olympian - Gold Medal Techniques to Unleash Your Potential at Work", a book that explains how to use mental training strategies in the work context. 

Jean François Ménard


Pierre-Marc Dion
BScN (2013), BHK (2020)
Registered Nurse, Emergency and Critical Care​, Montfort Hospital

Pierre-Marc Dion is a registered nurse who works in the emergency department and intensive care unit at the Montfort Hospital. He is also a simulation instructor at the Institut du Savoir Montfort, where he teaches advanced cardiac and pediatric resuscitation courses. Prior to this, he served as a flight nurse in the Canadian Armed Forces. Mr. Dion is deeply passionate about healthcare and completed his university studies in nursing sciences and human kinetics at the University of Ottawa. He also pursued postgraduate studies at Durham College to specialize further in critical care.

Placeholder image


Emily Paterson
BHSc (2009)
Director of Approaches to Community Wellbeing, Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority

Emily Paterson is a graduate of the Interdisciplinary School of Health Sciences. Emily’s impressive work and commitment in overseeing the transition and implementation of public health services for Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority and the 31 First Nations serviced by the Approaches to Community Wellbeing make her the ideal recipient for this award.

Placeholder image
students with their thumbs up

Help us achieve our vision

Donate to the Faculty