Bienvenue au Département de pédiatrie de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Message du président


A Pediatric Emergentologist and Clinical Investigator, Dr. Jabbour has held appointments with the Faculty of Medicine since 1992. She is an Associate Professor with the Department of Pediatrics with a cross-appointment to the Department of Emergency Medicine. She has served as Vice-Chair of the Department of Pediatrics since 2011, prior to which she was Chief of the Division of Emergency Medicine at CHEO. Her extensive list of hospital appointments includes her current role as Clinical Investigator in the Evidence to Practice Research Program with the CHEO Research Institute, as well as Board Chair of the Children’s Hospital Academic Medical Organization (CHAMO).

Dr. Jabbour has served on numerous external committees, boards and working groups. She is a founder and Implementation Co-Director of TRanslating Emergency Knowledge for Kids (TREKK), a national knowledge mobilization network that seeks to elevate the quality of pediatric emergency care in all Emergency Department settings. Additional current roles include Implementation Science Consultant with the Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Innovation and Improvement Center Dissemination Project in the United States, Chair for the Provincial Emergency Department Pediatric Readiness Initiative, and Chair of the Lung Health Foundation’s Provincial Asthma Care Pathway for Emergency Departments, among many others. Her research interests include improving systems of care, implementation, and curricular innovations and assessment. She has delivered dozens of invited presentations at national and international bodies on myriad topics relating to medical education and pediatric emergency medicine.

Dr. Jabbour has extensive leadership experience in medical education with the Faculty and CHEO, including Pediatric Residency Director, CHEO Continuing Medical Education Director and Undergraduate Stage I Co-Chair. She has served on committees dedicated to post-graduate and undergraduate education, innovations in medical education, professional development and clinical faculty promotions. She has held several roles at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC), including Chief Examiner for the Pediatrics certification exam, and Education Coordinator with the initial launch of the CanMEDS project. 

Dr. Jabbour earned her MD at McMaster University in Hamilton and completed residency training in Pediatrics at the University of Ottawa in 1992. She also completed fellowship training in Pediatric Emergency Medicine at the University of Ottawa in 1992 and her Master of Higher Education with specialization in Health Professions Education at the University of Toronto in 1997.

Mona Jabbour MD, MEd, FRCPC
Associate Professor and Interim Chair/Chief, Department of Pediatrics

Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa

Mona Jabbour
Mona Jabbour MD, MEd, FRCPC


Comité directeur

Le Comité directeur offre un soutien au directeur du Département de pédiatrie dans diverses initiatives, dont la planification stratégique, la reconnaissance du corps enseignant et les décisions relatives aux congés universitaires.

Comité exécutif de la pédiatrie

Comité du personnel enseignant du Département

Le Comité du personnel enseignant du Département (CPED) agit principalement comme le comité des promotions du Département. Le comité repère les personnes admissibles à une promotion universitaire et facilite le processus de promotion des personnes sélectionnées. Le comité est composé du directeur du Département de pédiatrie et de sept autres membres du corps enseignant : les Drs Jabbour, Kovesi, Feber, Geraughty, Samson et Le Saux. Le comité se réunit tous les mois.

Comité CPED

Comité des finances

Le Comité des finances a pour fonction de superviser les finances du Département de pédiatrie et de veiller à sa responsabilité financière. Toutes les décisions importantes concernant l’attribution et la distribution des fonds du Département sont prises par ce comité, qui est composé du directeur du Département de pédiatrie, de la présidente du Comité des finances et de six membres du corps enseignant. Le comité est soutenu par Julie Totten, contrôleuse financière. Les membres actuels de ce comité sont les Drs Duffy, Jabbour (présidente du comité), Shefrin, Reisman, Neto, Moore, Barkey et Harrold.

Comité des finances