Theft prevention

Do your part!

Theft is the most common crime committed on our campus. It is also the most preventable. Public spaces and locker areas are especially targeted by thieves on campus. You can play an active role to help decrease its occurrence on our grounds. The idea is simple: theft is a crime of opportunity. Thieves will use any chance that is given to them: valuable goods left without surveillance or poorly secured represent an interesting and profitable opportunity to make a quick buck on the black market!

Don’t offer an opportunity to thieves!

By doing your part, you can help us reduce theft occurrences on our campus. Theft has been decreasing in recent years and we are putting forward theft prevention strategies to keep it that way.

You can do your part with the following easy steps!

  • Always keep an eye on your belongings or have someone watch them if you must leave the area for a few moments – things can disappear quickly;
  • Secure your belongings with good quality locks. Combination locks of poor quality can be easily broken by thieves. Good quality locks are sold in businesses on campus: at the Pivik and the University Bookstore, both located in the Unicentre;
  • Always lock your residence door behind you even if you are out for a few seconds;
  • Never leave valuables in view in your car. Always secure them in the trunk;
  • Register your valuables with the STOP THEFT program!

 

Partnership with Sports Services

 The Bait Locker Program consists of equipping selected lockers in the male and female change rooms with compact, self-contained alarms. 

Stop theft
The STOP THEFT program helps protect students from theft

STOP THEFT is an anti-theft and recovery program designed mostly for lap tops. Special identification plates installed on your computer deter thieves and make it easier to recover the computer if it’s lost or stolen. Furthermore, if someone removes the plate, a chemically bonded tattoo stating “stolen property” is left on the computer, making it much more challenging to resell. STOP THEFT is used mostly for computers and laptops, but can also be installed on electronic devices such as iPods or digital cameras (smaller plates are available).

Protection Services enters the plate identification number in a database hosted on a secure Web site by STOP – Security Tracking of Office Property – the company that runs the STOP THEFT program.

Have peace of mind

An identification plate helps deter thieves and makes it easier to recover a lost or stolen device.

For only $20, you can register for the program and have the plate installed on your item. Protection Services gives you a copy of all the information you need on your registered item, and you simply keep the info in a secure location. We also enter the information in the STOP database for you. It’s trouble free!

Want to register?

Contact Protection Services by e-mail at martin.gregoire@uottawa.ca or drop by the Community Protection Office in the University Centre, room 02A. 

Crime Stoppers
National Capital Region Crime Stoppers

What is Crime Stoppers?

Crime Stoppers is a community based program that assists law enforcement agencies in the resolution of crime. By offering cash rewards for anonymous tips, Crime Stoppers encourages local citizens to provide this vital information. The Crime Stoppers program guarantees the anonymity of the tipster. Crime Stoppers programs have been highly successful in reducing the crime rate in many other cities in Canada and the United States.

Back to top

Prévention du vol

Faites votre part!

Le vol est le crime le plus courant sur le campus, mais c’est aussi le plus facile à prévenir. Et vous pouvez aider à le faire. Les voleurs rôdent souvent dans les espaces publics et les aires des casiers, cherchant des occasions de vous dérober quelque chose. Si vous laissez un objet précieux sans surveillance ou dans un endroit peu sûr, rien n’empêchera un voleur de s’en emparer pour ensuite aller le revendre sur le marché noir!

Ne donnez pas de chance aux voleurs!

  • Ne quittez jamais vos affaires des yeux ou demandez à quelqu’un de les surveiller si vous devez vous absenter quelques minutes— il suffit souvent d’un instant pour que quelque chose disparaisse.
  • Utilisez un bon cadenas pour verrouiller votre casier. Les cadenas à combinaison de mauvaise qualité sont faciles à ouvrir. Vous trouverez de bons cadenas dans les magasins du campus.
  • Verrouillez toujours la porte de votre chambre de résidence, même si vous ne devez sortir que pour quelques secondes.
  • Ne laissez jamais vos affaires à la vue dans votre voiture. Mettez-les toujours dans le coffre, sous clé.
  • Enregistrez vos objets de valeur auprès du programme STOP THEFT!
Partenariat avec les Services sportifs

Le programme casier-appât consiste à munir certains casiers dans les vestiaires des hommes et des femmes de dispositifs d’alarme compacts. 

 

Prévenez le vol
Le programme STOP THEFT protège les appareils des étudiants contre le vol

STOP THEFT est un programme de prévention des vols et de récupération des objets volés qui cible principalement les ordinateurs de bureau et les portables. Des plaques d’identification sont posées sur les ordinateurs pour dissuader les voleurs et faciliter la récupération des appareils perdus ou volés. Toute tentative de retirer la plaque fait apparaître sur l’ordinateur un tatouage chimique affichant l’inscription « stolen property » (bien volé). Ce tatouage pourra dissuader le voleur, car il l’empêchera de revendre l’appareil. On peut également poser des plaques STOP THEFT plus petites sur d’autres dispositifs électroniques, comme les iPod ou les appareils photo numériques.

Le Service de la protection entre le numéro gravé sur la plaque d’identification dans une base de données hébergée dans un site Web sécurisé par la firme Security Tracking of Office Property (STOP), instigateurs du programme STOP THEFT.

La paix d’esprit

Une plaque d'identification dissuade les voleurs et facilite la récupération d'un appareil  perdu ou volé.

Pour seulement 20$, vous pouvez vous inscrire au programme et faire poser une plaque sur votre appareil. C’est aussi simple que cela! Le Service de la protection vous remettra copie des renseignements concernant l’objet que vous avez enregistré (gardez ces informations dans un endroit sûr). Il entrera aussi les renseignements dans la base de données STOP.

 

Vous voulez vous inscrire?

Communiquez avec le Service de la protection par courriel, à l’adresse martin.gregoire@uottawa.ca ou passez au Bureau de la protection communautaire, situé au Centre universitaire, pièce02A.

Échec Au Crime
Échec au Crime de la région de la capitale nationale

Qu'est-ce que le programme Échec au crime?

Échec au crime est un programme communautaire qui aide les partenaires en matière d’application de la loi dans la résolution de crimes. En offrant des récompenses en argent pour l’obtention d’indices anonymes, Échec au crime encourage les citoyens locaux à fournir cette information vitale et ce, sous le couvert de l’anonymat. Les programmes Échec au crime ont beaucoup de succès et aident à réduire le taux de criminalité dans de nombreuses autres villes au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Haut de page