Dr. Melissa Forgie

Dr. Melissa Forgie
Dr. Melissa Forgie
Professor of Medicine
Vice-Dean, PGME Interim
Vice-Dean and Vice President of Medical Education


Roger Guindon Hall (RGN) 2014


Dr. Forgie currently leads the Medical Education Portfolio by guiding long-range planning, strategic decision-making and optimal resource allocation to best position the Faculty, TOH and all of our other affiliated hospitals to promote the delivery of world-class, innovative medical education. Prior to that, Dr. Forgie was the Vice-Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education at the Faculty, where she has received international recognition for her advocacy and study of the learning environment.

A graduate of the medical school and member of the Faculty of Medicine since 2001, Dr. Forgie is highly respected as a strong leader whose integrity and national presence in education are valued greatly by her colleagues. Dr. Forgie also brings a track record of working closely with all of our affiliated institutions. Previously, she served as Assistant Dean, Student Affairs as well as Residency Program Director for the Hematology Training Program, and she has also served as national Co-Chair for the Association of Faculties of Medicine Student Affairs Group and Vice Co-Chair for the Undergraduate Medical Education deans group. Her communication, collaboration and leadership skills support her longstanding dedication to serving the missions of all of our stakeholders.

A Clinician-Investigator with the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Dr. Forgie has publications in a wide array of prestigious journals such as the New England Journal of Medicine and Nature, publishing regularly in her area of clinical expertise as well as in medical education. She is an active investigator in a number of both peer-reviewed and industry-funded clinical trials. Her clinical practice specializes in thromboembolic diseases.

She is an invited member of the International Women’s Forum, which features women world leaders who have broken through barriers and achieved recognition for their leadership.