Do you have what it takes to become a successful researcher? Find out what these incredible award-winning individuals have done to become top of their field.

Jan Mennigen

Using rainbow trout to study glucose intolerance

Professor Jan Mennigen is the 2021 recipient of the Gorbman-Bern New Independent Investigator Award.
Chemistry and Biomolecular Sc.
David Bryce
Chemistry and Biomolecular Sc.

Professor David Bryce is elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

The Royal Society of Canada (RSC) is Canada’s National Academy, whose goal is to promote learning and research in the arts, the humanities and the sciences.
Xiaoyi Bao

Revolutionary invention earns Professor Xiaoyi Bao a Governor General’s Innovat…

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards recognize and celebrate outstanding Canadian individuals, teams and organizations—trailblazers and creators who contribute to our country’s success, who help shape our future and who inspire the next generation.
Mathematics and Statistics
Luca Ghidelli
Mathematics and Statistics

Brilliant Mathematics Doctoral Student Wins Prestigious Award

The Governor General's Gold Medal — one of the highest honours attributed to graduate students in Canada — recognizes outstanding academic achievements.
Chemistry and Biomolecular Sc.
Alison Flynn
Chemistry and Biomolecular Sc.

Using chemistry education research to better equip student for their future

The Chemical Institute of Canada's (CIC) Award for Chemistry Education is presented as a mark of recognition to a person who has made an outstanding contribution in Canada to education at the post-secondary level in the field of chemistry or chemical engineering.
Professors Roberto Chica, Ebrahim Karimi and Rajendhran Rajakumar

Funding boost to accelerate the impact of our world-class research

Innovative ideas are rarely what is lacking to push research forward.

All awards and honours

Recipient Department Title
Alper, Howard CBS Companion of the Order of Canada
Bao, Xiaoyi PHY Governor General's Innovation Award
Bryce, David CBS Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada
Chica, Roberto CBS NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Flynn, Alison CBS CIC Award for Chemistry Education
Hemmer, Eva CBS Award for Outstanding Early-Career Achievements in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Ontario
Karimi, Ebrahim PHY NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Karimi, Ebrahim PHY Canadian Association of Physicists Herzberg Medal
Karimi, Ebrahim PHY Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
Keillor, Jeffrey CBS Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada
Khoury, Joseph MAT 2021 Adrien Pouliot Award
Mennigen, Jan BIO Gorbman-Bern New Independent Investigator Award
Newman, Steve BIO 2020/21 Faculty of Science Early Career Researcher of the Year Award
Pezacki, John CBS 2021 CSC Bernard Belleau Award
Rajakumar, Rajendhran BIO NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement
Woo, Tom CBS 2020/21 Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Research


BIO: Department of Biology
CBS: Department of Chemistry and Biomolecular Sciences
EES: Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
MAT: Department of Mathematics and Statistics
PHY: Department of Physics