By Michel Prévost
For the 15th consecutive year, the Archives of the University of Ottawa is taking part in the annual Doors Open Ottawa, being held on June 4 and 5, 2016.
Throughout the weekend, members of the public can explore some 130 historically, culturally and architecturally significant buildings and sites for free, including 19 new sites. A number of the destinations are located in Sandy Hill, including the University’s Alex Trebek Alumni Hall and the Advanced Research Complex (ARC).
On Sunday, June 5, staff from the uOttawa Archives will be on hand at the building to greet visitors. The alumni hall was created by combining two stunning Victorian residences, the Gaston Héon house (built in 1875) and the former residence of the University’s first alumnus, Thomas Foran, built in 1885. Foran received his bachelor’s degree from the University in 1872 and his master’s degree in 1875.
Archival documents on the two historic homes and items related to the distinguished career of alumnus and TV personality Alex Trebek will be on display. Archivist Jacinthe Duval will be available to answer any questions.
After discovering Alumni Hall, visitors can explore historic Laurier House and the embassies of Algeria, Angola and Croatia, as well as St. Alban’s Anglican Church, St. Paul’s Eastern United Church and the Evangelical Lutheran Church of St. Paul, all located in Sandy Hill.
Doors Open Ottawa
The first Doors Open Ottawa was held in 2002, and the event was an instant hit. Since then, more than 850,000 visitors have toured some of Ottawa’s most prestigious buildings. Doors Open Ottawa is the second largest such architectural event in North America.
Michel Prévost is chief archivist at the University of Ottawa.