Zenghu Chang
Zenghu Chang
Canada Excellence Research Chair

ARC 537
(613) 562-5800 ext. 4089

Department of Physics


Zenghu Chang graduated from Xi’an Jiaotong University with a bachelor’s degree in 1982. He earned a master’s and a doctorate at the Xi’an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, in 1985 and 1988 respectively. From 1991 to 1993, Chang visited the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.

He joined Kansas State University as an Associate Professor in 2001 and became the Ernest & Lillian Chapin Professor in 2009. He moved to the University of Central Florida in 2010 where he was a University Trustee Chair, Pegasus and Distinguished Professor, as well as the founding director of the Institute for the Frontier of Attosecond Science and Technology.

Starting in 2024, Chang will become a Canada Excellence Research Chair at the University of Ottawa. Chang is a fellow of the American Physical Society and Optical Society of America.  

Selected publications

  • Leily Kiani, Tong Zhou, Seung-Whan Bahk, Jake Bromage, David Bruhwiler, E Michael Campbell, Zenghu Chang, Enam Chowdhury, Michael Downer, Qiang Du, Eric Esarey, Almantas Galvanauskas, Thomas Galvin, Constantin Häfner, Dieter Hoffmann, Chan Joshi, Manoj Kanskar, Wei Lu, Carmen Menoni, Michael Messerly, Sergey B Mirov, Mark Palmer, Igor Pogorelsky, Mikhail Polyanskiy, Erik Power, Brendan Reagan, Jorge Rocca, Joshua Rothenberg, Bruno E Schmidt, Emily Sistrunk, Thomas Spinka, Sergei Tochitsky, Navid Vafaei-Najafabadi, Jeroen van Tilborg, Russell Wilcox, Jonathan Zuegel, Cameron Geddes, “High average power ultrafast laser technologies for driving future advanced accelerators,” Journal of Instrumentation 18, T08006 (2023).
  • Bonggu Shim, Garima C. Nagar, Yi Wu, and Zenghu Chang, “Generation of high-order harmonics and attosecond pulses in the water window via nonlinear propagation of a few-cycle laser pulse,” Optics Express 31, 32488-32503 (2023).
  • Z. Alphonse Marra, Yi Wu, Fangjie Zhou, Zenghu Chang, “Cryogenically cooled Fe: ZnSe-based chirped pulse amplifier at 4.07 µm,” Optics Express 31 (8), 13447-13454 (2023).
  • Zenghu Chang, Li Fang, Vladimir Fedorov, Chase Geiger, Shambhu Ghimire, Christian Heide, Nobuhisa Ishii, Jiro Itatani, Chandrashekhar Joshi, Yuki Kobayashi, Prabhat Kumar, Alphonse Marra, Sergey Mirov, Irina Petrushina, Mikhail Polyanskiy, David A Reis, Sergei Tochitsky, Sergey Vasilyev, Lifeng Wang, Yi Wu, Fangjie Zhou, “Intense infrared lasers for strong-field science,” Advances in Optics and Photonics 14 (4), 652-782 (2022).
  • Fangjie Zhou, Yi Wu, Alphonse Marra, Zenghu Chang, “Efficient generation of femtosecond millijoule pulses at 3.1 µm,” Optics Letters 47(23), 6057-6060 (2022).
  • Fangjie Zhou, Adrian Cintron, Yi Wu, and Zenghu Chang, “Enhancement of gain and efficiency of Ho:YLF energy boosters through deep thermoelectric cooling,” Optics Continuum 1, 1060 (2022).
  • Nariyuki Saito, Nicolas Douguet, Hiroki Sannohe, Nobuhisa Ishii, Teruto Kanai, Yi Wu, Andrew Chew, Seunghwoi Han, Barry I Schneider, Jeppe Olsen, Luca Argenti, Zenghu Chang, Jiro Itatani, “Attosecond electronic dynamics of core-excited states of in the soft x-ray region,” Physical Review Research 3, 043222 (2021).
  • Yi Wu, Esben Witting Larsen, Fangjie Zhou, Lifeng Wang, Alphonse Marra, Daniel Schade, Jialin Li, and Zenghu Chang, “Transition metal doped zinc selenide infrared lasers for ultrafast and intense field science,” Book Chapter: Emerging Laser Technologies for High Power and Ultrafast Science, IOP Publishing Ltd, Editor: Francois Legare (2021). ISBN: 978-0-7503-2534-9

Research interests

  • Attosecond Science and Technology
  • Ultrafast X-ray Sources and Applications
  • Intense Mid-infrared Lasers