The University of Ottawa Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine (CMM), is a large, dynamic and interdisciplinary department consisting of 52 faculty researchers and teaching staff, as well approximately 70 cross-appointed and adjunct members.

CMM was formed from the combined resources of three former departments of the University of Ottawa: Physiology, Pharmacology and Anatomy & Neurobiology. CMM is part of the Ottawa Health Sciences Centre, a medical complex which also includes the Ottawa Hospital (General Campus), the Children͛'s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO), the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI) and the Children͛s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute (CHEORI). In addition, through its cross-appointed and adjunct members, the Department has research affiliations with OHRI, the University of Ottawa Heart Institute at the Ottawa Hospital (Civic Campus), the Royal Ottawa Hospital, the Canadian Red Cross, Health Canada and the National Research Council. These relationships greatly facilitate interactions of CMM members with clinicians and researchers involved in diverse aspects of human medicine.