Vapourtec V3 pump

Centre for Catalysis Research and Innovation

Catalyzing solutions

The Centre for Catalysis Research and Innovation (CCRI) is Canada’s largest co-located, multidisciplinary catalysis research centre. It was created in 2001 with the vision to establish national and international collaborations at the interface of chemistry, engineering and biology in order to conceive and develop new approaches to catalysis science.  The Centre is located in an 18,000 sq. ft. facility built in 2005 at the University of Ottawa’s downtown campus in the heart of Canada’s national capital.  With state-of-the-art facilities and partnerships with leading institutes around the globe, the CCRI provides researchers with a unique scientific environment that fosters groundbreaking research, collaboration and training of young researchers.

We have the organization, core facilities, expertise and the dedication for solving your technical problems.

CCRI Collaborative Research Award for Medicinal Chemistry: “PDF for Hire”

This award is made possible by support from the CCRI, the University of Ottawa Heart Institute, and the Office of the Vice President Research. 

The full application process can be downloaded here: ccri pdf award (PDF, 86 KB).

Applications for the Winter 2020 award (start date Feb 1 2020) competition are due Jan 17 2020. Award announcements will be made Jan 27 2020.

Previous CCRI Collaborative Research Award for Medicinal Chemistry “PDF for Hire” Award Recipients

  • 2020 - Dr. Katey Rayner (Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, uOttawa & University of Ottawa Heart Institute) and Dr. Derek Pratt (Chemistry, uOttawa) for the development of  chemically engineered resolvin-D analog with an alkyne “handle”
  • 2019: - Dr. Barbara Vanderhyden (Cellular and Molecular Medicine, uOttawa & Ottawa Hospital Research Institute) and Dr. Jeffrey Keillor (Chemistry, uOttawa) for the development of peptidomimetic targeted covalent Inhibitors of tissue transglutaminase 2
  • 2019 - Dr. Yannick Benoit (Cellular and Molecular Medicine, uOttawa) and Dr. André Beauchemin (Chemistry, uOttawa) for the development of new analogues of ICG-001/CWP compounds stabilizing CBP-Sam68 complexes in cancer stem cells
  • 2019 - Dr. Patrick Giguère (Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, uOttawa) and Dr. André Beauchemin (Chemistry, uOttawa) for the design of bitopic and bifunctional opiod modulators
  • 2018 - Dr. Tommy Alain (CHEO, Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, uOttawa) and Dr. Chris Boddy (Chemistry, uOttawa) for developing novel compounds that improve efficacy of oncolytic viruses for the treatment of intractable brain cancers
  • 2018 - Dr. Marceline Côté (Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, uOttawa) and Dr. André Beauchemin (Chemistry, uOttawa) for developing new small molecule inhibitors of pathogenic emerging viruses

Congratulations to our awardees; the CCRI is proud to be able to support your collaborative research!

Contact us

Centre for Catalysis Research and Innovation (CCRI)

Biosciences Complex
30 Marie-Curie
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 6N5

Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 5698
[email protected]

Director and administrative staff

Dr. Michael Organ
Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 5698
[email protected]

Associate Director
Dr. Steffany Bennett
Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 8372
[email protected]

Education and Outreach Coordinator
Dr. Stephen Newman
Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 6264
[email protected]

High Throughput Experimentation Core Facility

High Throughput Experimentation Manager
Roxanne Clément
Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 2973
[email protected]

Flow Chemistry Core Facility

Flow Chemistry Manager
Debasis Mallik
Telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 6353
[email protected]