The Department of Surgery at the uOttawa is comprised of 8 academic divisions (including the following specialties: cardiac surgery, general surgery, neurosurgery, othopaedic surgery, plastic surgery, thoracic surgery, urology, and vascular surgery). Each academic division work closely with its respective clinical division located at The Ottawa Hospital (General, Civic and Riverside Campuses), CHEO, and the uOttawa Heart Institute, as well as other hospitals throughout our community.


VISION: To actively promote and facilitate wellness through focused projects addressing personal resilience, efficiency of practice, burnout, and culture of wellness within our department.


  • To actively listen and respond to health and wellness issues identified
  • To increase awareness of factors and resources contributing to wellbeing
  • To support healthy living by promoting physical, intellectual, emotional, social, and spiritual wellness
  • To empower individuals and improve organizational wellbeing through focused projects
  • To develop peer-to-peer support and mentorship programs, and foster a community around health and wellness
  • To work closely with QI teams to support projects that address efficiency and reduce stress
  • To promote diversity, equality, inclusion, and belonging throughout wellness initiatives

Quality Improvement



Reach out to the communications advisor for website, newsletter, or annual report assistance. The departmental logos are available to all members of the department. If the links have expired, contact the communications lead to reactivate them. 

Official Logos: