Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)

For information about the possible extension of Tri-agency scholarships and fellowships (CGS M, CGS D, agency-specific doctoral awards, PDF, Vanier CGS and Banting PDF) due to COVID-19, please visit the agencies website. . 

Canada Graduate Scholarships and SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships

The Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program (Joseph-Armand Bombardier) (CGS D) and the SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships aim to develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of scholarly achievement in undergraduate and graduate studies in the social sciences and humanities.


CGS D — Joseph-Armand Bombardier : $35,000 per year; SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship: $20,000 per year.


Monday, October 19, 2020, 8 p.m.

Please note that the University of Ottawa has a quota. 

Where should I submit my application flowchart?

Important notice

Applicants complete and submit one application to be considered for both a CGS D scholarship and an agency doctoral award. CGS D scholarships are offered to top-ranked eligible applicants.

Please consult the description and application criteria for each of the scholarship (CGS D — Joseph-Armand Bombardier and SSHRC Doctoral Fellowship) since there are differences.  

The application form is completed and submitted online via SSHRC's website.


The Canada Graduate Scholarships - Doctoral Program (CGS D)
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

* The information on this page is subject to change without notice and does not represent a commitment from the University of Ottawa.

Back to top