Campaign cabinet

Members of the 2023 cabinet

Alex Trebek Alumni Hall

Executive members

Perry Dellelce is a founder and managing partner of Wildeboer Dellelce LLP, one of Canada’s leading corporate finance and transactional law firms. Perry practises in the areas of securities, corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions.

Perry has been recognized by The Canadian Legal Lexpert® as one of Canada’s leading practitioners in the areas of Technology Transactions and Global Mining.

Perry Dellelce.

Former uOttawa chancellor Calin Rovinescu’s distinguished career in corporate law as a managing partner with Stikeman Elliott and in business as cofounder of Genuity Capital Markets served him well when he became president and CEO of Air Canada in 2009.

Under his leadership, during a time of economic turbulence, he piloted the company’s rise from the brink of bankruptcy to soaring profitability while eliminating the significant drag of its $3.7 billion pension plan deficit. As a result, in 2013, he was named Canada’s best CEO by Report on Business.

Calin Rovinescu retired from Air Canada on February 15, 2021. He joined Brookfield Asset Management in March 2021 and sits on several boards.

Calin Rovinescu.

Sheila Block is a leading trial and appellate counsel with a broad litigation practice, acting on numerous high-profile cases in a diverse range of matters. She is recognized as one of Canada’s top litigators and trial lawyers and has received numerous awards for her accomplishments, including The Law Society Medal and Advocates’ Society Medal. She is President of The Harold G. Fox Education Fund and a founder and Trustee, Foundation for International Arbitration Advocacy, Geneva and Chair, Touching Tiny Lives Foundation.

Sheila has taught advocacy in 15 countries. She is a member of the Supreme Court Advocacy Institute; the American College of Trial Lawyers (Fellow, 1991); the International Society of Barristers (Fellow, 1992). LLB (gold Medalist) University of Ottawa, Ontario Bar and an honorary bencher of the Middle Temple.

Sheila Block.

Jacques Frémont is President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ottawa. In 2013, Quebec’s legislative assembly appointed him to chair the Quebec Human Rights and Youth Rights Commission. Prior to this appointment, he worked at the Open Society Foundations, in New York, as Director of the International Higher Education Support Program.

Jacques Frémont.

As vice-president, external relations, Jacline advances the goals of the University through a diverse portfolio of activities that focus on raising the University’s profile, establishing strategic internal and external partnerships, fostering stakeholder engagement, and growing revenue to support the University in its research and teaching mission. In this role, she is responsible for the activities of the development office, the alumni relations office, the marketing and communications directorate, language services and advancement services.

Dr. Jacline Nyman.

Cabinet members

Margo Brousseau (LL.B. and M.B.A., Laval University)

Julie Cafley (BEd 1996, MEd 2003, PhD 2015), Executive Director, Catalyst Canada

France Chrétien Desmarais, OC (BSocSc 1978), Director, Sanpalo Investments Corporation

Kevin Gilmore (LLL 1986, LLB 1987), Founder and President, 4Sport Consulting

Duane Green (BSocSc 1994), President & CEO, Franklin Templeton Investments Corporation

Paul Hindo (BEd 1980, McGill University), Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, Cyber Defense Corporation, Member BoG uO

Huguette Labelle CC, OOnt (BScN 1960, PhD 1980), Emeritus Governor, University of Ottawa

Lisa LaFlamme OC, OOnt (BA 1988)

Mina Lux (BASc 1992), Principal, Mina Lux Consulting

Mary K. Marsden (BScGen-Sci 1983), Member of the Board, Blackshire Capital Corp.

Ron McLaughlin (BA 1971), Chief Financial Officer, Hansell McLaughlin Advisory Group

Marc Savard (LLL 1997), Administrative Judge, Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux du Québec

Ian Telfer (MBA 1976), Chairman, Goldcorp Inc.

Hugh Verrier (LLB 1981), Chairman, White & Case LLP

Ted Wagstaff (BSc 1989), President, North45