Leela Aheer is the Minister responsible for the Francophone Secretariat in Alberta. She is also the Minister of Culture and Tourism.

The Francophone Secretariat ensures liaison between the government and the province’s Francophone community. It presents the needs of the Francophone community before government, the departments and government agencies. It also represents the Alberta Francophonie at the Ministerial Conference on the Canadian Francophonie and it participates in the negotiations for federal-provincial agreements on the French language and culture[1].

[1] Government of Alberta, Francophone Secretariat, Responsibilities. Page consulted online on February 28, 2021.

Overview of the Laws, Policies and Regulations

English is the official language of Alberta. The Languages Act, or Bill 60, was adopted in 1989 and revised in 2000. Under this Act, the province’s acts and regulations are written and published in English. The use of French is permitted in the Legislative Assembly and in verbal communications before the following provincial courts: Court of Appeal, Court of Queen’s Bench, and Provincial Court. The Languages in the Courts Regulation specifies the modalities under which a trial can take place in French or in English and French.

The regulations and records of the Assembly are also written and printed in English. If the Assembly adopted a resolution, part or all of the records or journals could be written and published in English, in French or in both languages.

In June 2017, the Government of Alberta established theFrench Policy. It “guides government ministries in enhancing services in French and supports the vitality of the Francophonie in Alberta.”[1]

[1] Government of Alberta, Francophone Secretariat. Page consulted on February 28, 2021.